Arts & Entertainment

Chatham Musicians Earn Honors in Morris Area and Regional Ensembles

Chatham High region band members Sean McCarty, Alex Stuart, Evangelia Diplas and Ryan Ding Credits: CHS
CMS area choir members Karoline Savarese, Caroline Kiernan, Zoe Horowitz, Layla Clark, Emily Lamb and Christine Purschke Credits: CMS
Chatham High senior choir members Peter Hoefler, Matt Markay, Will Hackett, Aaron Fontes, Kimmi Neuschultz, Marykate Wilmot, Madelaine Haeringer, Taryn Roffina Credits: CHS
Felicia Guo is a member of the region orchestra Credits: CHS
High school region mixed choir Credits: CHS
High school region women's choir Credits: CHS

CHATHAM, NJ - Twenty-eight Chatham Middle and Chatham High School musicians are enjoying a successful season for area and regional band, choir, and orchestra membership.

Student musicians are participating in a series of performances sponsored through the Morris Area Choral Directors Association, North Jersey Area Band, North Jersey School Music Association, and NJ Music Educators Association.

Students continue to be sponsored throughout the audition and membership processes by Chatham Music faculty members Brian Conti, Krystle Graser, Christie Spriggs, and Michelle Uhler. 

Sign Up for E-News

The Morris Area Choral Directors Association began the competitive audition season last fall for both the Junior (grades 7-8) and  High School (grades 9-12) bands and choirs.

CMS singers Layla Clarke, Aaron Fontes, Zoe Horowitz, Caroline Kiernan, Emily Lamb, Christine Purschke and Karoline Savarese were selected to perform under the direction of Tricia Lalla and Patricia Danner on January 16th at Randolph High School. 

Three CHS students performed on January 17th at Mount Olive High School under the direction of James Miller with the North Jersey Area Symphonic Band, among them clarinetist Harrison Farrugia and flautist Emily Harper.

CMS Trumpet player Ronan Green performed with the Junior division band under the baton of Erika Sulich.

In the Regional category, eight CHS singers were accepted into the High School Region Choirs; Aaron Fontes, Peter Hoefler, Will Hackett, Madelaine Haeringer, Matt Markay, Kimberly Neuschulz, Taryn Roffina, and Mary Kate Willmot.  Their hard work culminated in a concert at Sparta High School on January 30th under the direction of Christopher Thomas and Jessica Pomeroy.

Ryan Ding (clarinet), Evangelia Diplas (flute), Sean McCarty (bass trombone), and Alex Stuart (trumpet) earned membership in the Regional Symphonic Band, which performed at Parsippany Hills High School on January 31st.

Violinist Felicia Guo was accepted into the Region Orchestra and will perform under the baton of Timothy Dixon on February 28th at Morristown High School.  

Several band and chorus members are also participating in the 2016 Junior Regional Ensembles. CMS and CHS will be proudly represented by singers Layla Clarke, Liam Driscoll, Nate Eck, Ronan Green, Madelaine Haeringer, Greg Himstreet, Caroline Kiernan, Grace Petersen, Taryn Roffina, and Adi Roy in the 

Junior Chorus under the direction of Adam Aguanno and Nicholas McBride at Kittatinny Regional High School on Sunday, March 20th.  

At the All-State level, trombonist Sean McCarty was accepted to the NJ All-State Band, which performed February 20th at NJPAC under the direction of Matthew Roeder and Allan McMurray. Last fall, singers Kate Evans and Elizabeth Stuart performed with the All-State Chorus, and Meghna Sitaram with the All-State Orchestra in Atlantic City and at NJPAC.

Stuart continued on with acceptance to the National Choir, which performed in Nashville in October.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


Upcoming Events


Fri, April 27, 2:00 PM

Madison Area YMCA - Kroll Conference Room, Madison

Blood Drive

Giving Back Health & Wellness Other

Sun, May 20, 2:00 PM

Chatham Township Municipal Building, Chatham

A Tour of Chatham Township and Green Village

Arts & Entertainment

Robotics and Turkey Sandwiches

April 24, 2018

April 22, 2018

Below is the thank you letter written to all of the groups involved in a wonderful service project today in support of Bridges Outreach, a Summit based organization that has been aiding local homeless friends for 30 years.

Dear Central Presbyterian Kindergartners, Stanley Family and friends, Fear the Gear, Columbia High School robotics and Washington Avenue School ...

The Madison Area YMCA’s “The Mind Matters 5K: Mentally Healthy One Stride at a Time” is Wednesday, May 16

April 26, 2018

Calling all runners! Lace up your running shoes for a great cause. On Wednesday, May 16, 2018, the Madison Area YMCA will host "The Mind Matters 5K: Mentally Healthy One Stride at a Time” and 1-mile family fun run/walk on the campus of Giralda Farms in Madison. This is the 22nd year that Pfizer has served as the lead corporate sponsor of the race.


All proceeds ...