SUMMIT, NJ - Michael Lemons of the Chatham Emergency Squad recently received the "EMS Excellence Award" at the 22nd Excellence in Emergency Medical Services banquet held at the Grand Summit Hotel.

The annual award is given by the Overlook Medical Center, which is associated with the Atlantic Health System. This prestigious award is given to a "certified member of the squad whose professionalism, dedication and efforts go above and beyond the call of duty." Lemons was one of 17 EMS personnel from the area honored with the award.

“This year, we had a strong pool of candidates from which to select, but Mike truly stood out
for his service to the squad and the community,” Joe Korkuch, captain of the Chatham Emergency Squad, said. “Mike brings a wealth of knowledge and skills in all that he does. He excels in an emergency and has gained the respect and admiration beyond the squad’s membership base to include Chatham police, fire and more. We are lucky to have him volunteer so much of his time and energy in serving the Chatham community.”

Sign Up for E-News

Selected by his peers, Lemons’ many contributions made him a stand-out choice. In addition to being a role model and superior EMT, Lemons has shown a passion and dedication to education, having served as the squad’s Training Officer for the past two years.

In his role, he was responsible for setting the training agenda for the squad and ensuring that all
members remained current on EMT practices and procedures. In addition, he has fostered the continuing education of the squad’s membership base and served as a CPR instructor responsible for training emergency personnel, coaches, teachers and Chatham residents with life-saving skills.

Since joining the squad in 2010, Lemons has served in many leadership roles including Vice President of Building and Grounds, Vice President of Finance and Training Officer. In 2018, he was named the squad’s first-ever Privacy Official, as the squad was required to comply with State regulations for the electronic collection of patient data, a role he currently holds.

Prior Chatham Emergency Squad recipients of the award include Rich Crater (2017), Tim Brown (2016) and Jim Martin (2015).