Chatham High School Principal Darren Groh announced this week that twenty seniors have been named Commended Students in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program.

A Letter of Commendation from the school and from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, was presented by the principal to these scholastically talented seniors.

The Commended Students from Chatham High School are as follows: Luka Batljan, Cameron Bresnahan, Caitlyn Colabraro, Annesha Ghosh, Alec Gironda, William High, Naila Ismail, Christine Madden, Mikayla Meyler, William O’Neill, Nishant Parikh, Veronica Quidore, Julia Raskin, Adian Sims, Katherine Swift, Rachel Tam, Michael Vintzel, Ethan Walker, Katherine Wang, and Zihan (Dorothy) Zhang. 

Sign Up for Chatham Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

“Being recognized as a National Merit Commended Scholar is wonderful for our students," Groh said. "It is a reflection on their hard work and the commitment they have made to their academics."

Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2019 competition by taking the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Text (PSAT/NMSQT). 

“The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for the NMSP. “The students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”