CHATHAM, NJ - Democrats swept all five Chatham races, including the Chatham Borough Mayoral race on Tuesday, giving the party control of both the Borough of Chatham Council and Chatham Township Committee.

The race won't become official until Morris County certifies the results.

The Democrat winners include Thad Kobylarz as mayor in Chatham Borough with Irene Treloar and Karen Koronkiewicz taking borough council seats. Stacey Ewald and Celeste Fondaco won seats on the Chatham Township Committee.

Sign Up for Chatham Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The mail-in ballots secured the wins in both towns for the Democrats. Kobylarz led Republican Bob Weber by 43 votes before the mail-in ballots widened his lead. As of Tuesday night, Kobylarz tallied 1,428 votes compared to 1,254 for Weber. Kobylarz will fill the seat left vacant by Mayor Bruce Harris, who did not run for re-election.

Steve Williams, Chatham Borough administrator, announces the unofficial election results, which did not include mail-in ballots tallied by the county

In the Borough of Chatham Council race, Koronkiewicz gained 1,394 votes and Treloar tallied 1,384 compared to their Republican counterparts Stacey McEvoy with 1,285 and Paul Kelley with 1,227.

In the Chatham Township Committee race, Ewald led with 1,633 votes and running mate Fondaco tallied 1,602 compared to Republicans Mark Hamilton with 1,306 and Rez Estevez with 1,302.

In 2020, there will be four Democratic women on the Borough of Chatham Council, with Koronkiewicz and Treloar joining Jocelyn Mathiasen and Carolyn Dempsey.

The Chatham Township Committee will also consist of four women with Democrats Ewald and Fondaco joining Democrat Tracy Ness and Republican Karen Swartz.