CLARK, NJ – It’s no easy tasks to get there, and only a handful of students are inducted into the Arthur L. Johnson chapter of the National Honor Society each year.   This year the school inducted 16 students in a candle-lighting ceremony held in the school’s auditorium on February 23rd.

This year’s format was carefully planned to minimize the number of attendees due to safety protocols associated with the pandemic.   The ceremony was also livestreamed for those not able to attend to join the celebration of the inductees virtually.

Kayla White, NHS Advisor, and Victoria Venezio, NHS President, led the night with opening remarks.  The candle-lighting ceremony was completed by Venezio, and fellow officers Matthew Hartzler, Gianna Caldiero, and Matthew Zukowski. Each current member discussed the meaning of the pillar and its role in the life of an NHS member.  

Sign Up for Clark Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

 Superintendent of Schools Edward Grande and Arthur L. Johnson Principal Jennifer Feeley congratulated the students on their accomplishments, speaking about the rigor of the selection process, and commending students on their strong character.  

“Our new inductees, along with our existing members, make us proud for all that they represent,” Superintendent Ed Grande.

 New inductees took a pledge led by Zukowski and received certificates and a special gift.  NHS Member Joseph Hovick also issued a challenge to students to view challenges as motivation to reach goals and never forget the value of hard work and determination. 

 Venezio then recognized Mr. Louis VanBergen, ALJ Science Teacher. Every year, a staff member is recognized for their dedication to student learning.  Venezio spoke about Van Bergen’s willingness to go above and beyond in addition to his passion and knowledge for teaching science.  

 The evening closed with “Words of Inspiration” from McCaffery who encouraged students to step out of their comfort zone and believe in themselves.

These 16 inductees join 7 existing members.  To be eligible for National Honor Society, a student must have a weighted cumulative GPA of 4.15 or above and be enrolled in at least 3 honors/AP courses. At that point, students are asked to complete the application process demonstrating examples of the pillars.


The 2021 NHS Inductees include:

·         Alexis Brede

·         Grace Cassidy

·         Lauren Fogle

·         Aidan Ford

·         Shannon Heaning

·         Michael Karnaugh

·         Martha Kolfenbach

·         Dominika Kosiek

·         Michelle Kukan

·         James Lordi

·         Jacob Mallik

·         Amanda Messina

·         Michael Smeraglia

·         Julia Steiner

·         Khadijah Tosun

·         Christopher Warnick