​On February 27, 2017, the Arthur L. Johnson chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 27 juniors and seniors into the society. The program was held at the Gran Centurions. Natalie Carnovale, president of the NHS, was the master of ceremonies.

After a stirring rendition of the National Anthem by Jessica Lopez, the program began. The theme of the ceremony was the pillars of the NHS which are character, scholarship, leadership and service. The candle ceremony was completed by Eric Velasquez, Janelle Pyar, Julia Melao, and Natalie Carnovale, with each current member challenging the new members to reach for those goals.

Mr. Grande, superintendent of schools, congratulated the inductees, noting the great accomplishments that ALJ expects of them. Mr. Delmonaco challenged them to “use these Four Pillars as your guides in everything you do.”

Sign Up for E-News

These words were echoed by Mia Lancelotti when she issued the “charge” asking inductees to “carry the pillars of the NHS and be the best you can be.”

One of the traditions of the NHS ceremony is to honor a current ALJ faculty member for their devotion to education. Megan Gunning presented Ms. Joanna Colosimo as this year’s recipient. Megan expressed her appreciation to Ms. Colosimo saying, “You exceed all expectations that we expect from our teachers. Your honesty and devotion are unsurpassed.”

Mrs. Anne Marciano, adviser to the NHS, said, “I could not be prouder of both the current members and the inductees. These students live by the pillars by helping with food collections, tutoring other students, and being great students.”

Joining the National Honor Society were:

Elizabeth Archer 
Nicole Cassano 
Joseph DiProfio
Saga Elsekhely 
Brenner Gull
Sara Halat 
Lindsey Hofschneider 
Cameron Hund 
Tara Jacobsen
Brandon Kennedy
Emma Knutson
Jessica Lopez
Maryann Makosiej
Tyler Moreira
Danielle Nugent
David Piskadlo
Michael Sot
Joseph Spinoso
Hart William Tecson
Zachary Thornton
Sydney Tropeano
Brooke Vaccaro
George Visconti Jr. 
Amy Wysocki
Daniel Zatko
Gregory Zukowski


TAPintoClark.net  is Clark’s official electronic news source and the only free daily paper. 

“LIKE” us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter @TAPintoClark.