CLARK, NJ – It was a celebration of student athletics at the Arthur L. Johnson High School Winter Athletics Award ceremony held Monday night at the school. More than 158 varsity athletic letters were given to students participating in the following winter sports: boys and girls basketball, wrestling, ice hockey, boys and girls winter track and field, swimming, bowling and cheerleading.

“Once again, our winter awards program was a successful evening as it allows the district, administration, and coaches the opportunity to acknowledge a wonderful winter sports season as well as recognize both student athletes and their parents alike for all that they have accomplished this past winter athletic season,” Athletic Director Gus Kalikas said.

The evening is sponsored by the Crusader Athletic Booster Club.

Sign Up for E-News

The season’s “Student Athlete Award” was presented to Eric Velasquez by school principal Rick Delmonaco. Velasquez earned the award for his success both on the field and in the classroom.

The Crusader Girls’ Track and Field Team earned the Crusader G.P.A. Challenge award, logging the highest overall G.P.A. of 3.8247. The girls’ received certificates acknowledging the accomplishment, which will be memorialized on a plaque in the school.  They will enjoy “Breakfast with the A.D” as an added treat.  The challenge winners are Gianna Randazza, Samantha Wagner, Grace Duffy, Lindsey Hofschneider, Jessica Knowles, Yasmine Torres, Katelyn Falke, Kayla Kowalenko, Natalya Torres, Kylee Zawacki, Emma Hilton, Julia Kalynchuk, Shailynn Rapp, and Taylor Turek.

The Best Teammate Award is awarded seasonally to one member from each athletic team that best fits the characteristics of a good teammate. The individuals that receive these awards exhibit upbeat attitudes and outstanding character. They helped influence the team’s culture in a positive manner, while always supporting teammates and promoting team unity. The Best Teammate Award Winners were:

  • Boys’ Basketball – Ray Williamson
  • Girls Basketball – Amy Wysocki
  • Wrestling – Tyler Bohm
  • Ice Hockey – Mike Adamowitz
  • Boys’ Winter Track & Field – Alex Hampp
  • Girls’ Winter Track & Field – Lyndsey Hofschneider
  • Swimming – Cameron Hund
  • Bowling – Evandro Galli
  • Cheerleading – Alexa Cutro

The evening culminated with the announcement of the Team Most Valuable Players. The 2017 Winter MVPs were

  • Boys’ Basketball – George Visconti Jr.
  • Girls Basketball – Sabrina Parin
  • Wrestling – Christopher Fuschetto
  • Ice Hockey – Karol Wieczorek
  • Boys’ Winter Track & Field – Eric Velasquez
  • Girls’ Winter Track & Field – Gianna Randazza
  • Swimming – Matthew Gallo
  • Bowling – Andrew Beach
  • Cheerleading – Athena Petronella

---------------  is Clark’s official electronic news source and the only free daily paper. 

Reach our local readers, advertise your business here, email