CLARK, NJ - The Arthur L. Johnson Crusader Athletic Council heard a presentation by athletic trainer Christopher Flores at their monthly meeting.

Flores, head athletic trainer at Westfield High School, is an adjunct professor at Kean University where he teaches First Aid/Injury Prevention and Personal Fitness. Flores loves mentoring young trainers and sharing everything he has learned in his 15 years in the fitness industry.

“The C.A.L.C. was thrilled to have Chris Flores come and speak to us on multiple topics relevant to high school athletics today, including leadership,” said ALJ Athletic Director Gus Kalikas.

Sign Up for E-News

“Chris reached all of our students and left them with great strategies that will not only help on the fields, courts, and mats, but also in the game of life. He was a true professional and inspires while delivering a wonderful message,” he continued.

After training in his parent’s basement as a teenager, Flores developed a passion and love for training other people and seeing the changes in their lives while training. He got W.I.T.S. certified in 2001 and then earned his NASM CPT certificate. Flores attended Kean University for athletic training, graduating in 2008.

In 2009 he open up FLO FITNESS LLC. It is a people-first gym geared towards helping high school athletes reach their goals. Flores is also one of the founding members of the group called Next Generation Fit Pros. It is an education group that puts together seminars and networking events for trainers to continue their education and build their networks.

The Crusader Athletic Leadership Council is comprised of ALJ students. This is the fifth year for the Crusader Athletic Leadership Council, a group that was formed to educate student athletes about expectations in interscholastic competition and foster an open and healthy relationship between the athletes, the school culture and the community of Clark.

The 2015-2016 members of the Crusader Athletic Leadership Council are: Ryan Bohm, Wyatt Bohm, Christie Bove, Michael Brennan, Kelly Briscese, Shannon Brogan, Katie Bruno, Brian Camillo, Mia Campanella, Alexis Ciccone, Vin Crisafi, Liam Deacy, Riley Delaney, Mike Demarco, Lauren Demille, Nicholasm DeGeronimo, Jon Duffy, Nicole Drapinski, Justin Faulke, Gina Ferdinandi, Julia Fiorvante, Wes Giannobile, Sara Halat, Matthew Janowski, Rachael Johnson, Sean Kovatch, Kim Knowles, Kyle Meyers, Daria Mnich, Tom Nadolsky, Molly Panetta, Katie Prestinari, Janelle Pyar, Gianna Randazza, Anthony Rizzuto, Brett Roessle, Andrew Sanchez, Zack Sandler, Drew Shannon, San Skultety, Dominique Smith, Larissa Vena, Stephanie Visconti, Eric Velasquez, Chris Vieira, Sam Wagner, Tanner Westcott, Sydney Zamboni, and Gabby Zatko

The organization meets monthly and discusses a variety of topics and issues of importance to the student athletes.