Clark's Rizzuto and Zatko Presented with UCIAC Scholar Athlete Awards

Anthony Rizzuto and Gabriella Zatko are Arthur L. Johnson High School UCIAC Scholar Athletes for the 2015-2016 school year. Credits: Clark Public Schools

CLARK, NJ - Arthur L. Johnson High School senior athletes Anthony Rizzuto and Gabriella Zatko were honored as the recipients of the Union County Interscholastic Athletic Conference’s Scholar Athlete Award. Rizzuto and Zatko received their awards at this week’s Scholar Athlete Dinner.

The UCIAC’s Scholar Athlete Award recognizes the athletes’ success both on the field and in the classroom.

Rizzuto had a stellar career at ALJ participating in football and baseball, ALJ Athletic Director Gus Kalikas said in a statement about the event. IN 2015, Rizzuto led the Crusader football team to a state semifinal appearance while rushing for over 1,000 yards. He will continue his education at The College of New Jersey.

Sign Up for E-News

Zatko participated in gymnastics, cheerleading, and softball throughout her career at ALJ. She helped the Lady Crusaders softball program win consecutive division titles while setting the school record for wins in a season. Zatko will continue her education at The University of Delaware.

“Anthony and Gabby have been an integral part of the success of our athletic programs at ALJ, allowing us to have success on the fields in multiple sports. More importantly, they have been model student athletes that did things the right way both on the fields and in the classroom,” Athletic Director Gus Kalikas said. “They are truly deserving of being named our recipients of the UCIAC’s Scholar Athlete Award, and we wish them well as they embark on their collegiate careers.”

The UCIAC is an organization run by Executive Director Tom Lewis, who has continued the great tradition of the Scholar Athlete Dinner from the late Frank J. Cicarell. Cicarell was a teacher, coach, administrator, Board of Education member, and President of the UCIAC. Cicarell is most remembered for was his impact on the student athletes.

Over the years, the dinner organized and run by Lewis, has grown in size and given out hundreds of thousands of dollars in scholarship funds.  The awards are presented to a male and female athlete from each school in the county.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


Upcoming Events


Tue, July 17, 6:00 PM

Westfield Presbyterian Church, Westfield

Youth Mental Health First Aid

Education Health & Wellness


Sat, July 28, 12:00 PM

Clark Recreation Center, Clark

Clark PD vs Clark FD BBQ Cook-Off

Food & Drink Police & Fire

Emma's Brick Oven to Host Your Favorite Pup

July 13, 2018

This Tuesday, July 17, Emma's Brick Oven will host your favorite pup at Kids Night Out! Kids can also enjoy face painting from 5:30 - 7:30 p.m.   Come enjoy great food with  and make memories with the family.  .  

Geoffrey the Giraffe Moves In To New Brunswick Children's Hospital

July 11, 2018

NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ - Over a stretch of nearly 70 years, Geoffrey the Giraffe at Toys R Us stores was the symbol of happy times for generations of children, and now he may provide those same feelings for children coming to a hospital.

"From this day forward, Geoffrey stands tall in our lobby to encourage our smallest patients to smile when they enter our facilities," said John ...

Ready to Pay College Tuition Bills?

So you've applied and been accepted and your child is heading off to college shortly.    Are you ready to pay the bill that is coming soon?  Take a listen to Chris Curran's video below as he gives suggestions of what you should be doing now so you are ready to pay the bill and don't forget to check out his book College Funding ...

Open Letter to Cranford Planning Board

July 9, 2018

Open Letter to Cranford Planning Board:

As you know, Hartz is scheduled to go before the Planning Board on July 18th.  Since last year, Hartz has postponed their meeting numerous times with no pushback that we can see whatsoever from the Planning Board.  

We are asking the Planning Board to direct the planning board attorney to send Hartz’s counsel a letter requiring that ...


Jun 29, 1927 - Apr 23, 2018
Margaret (Peggy) Kirk Leonard passed away Monday, April 23rd, surrounded by her loved ones. Peggy ...
Read more