Sports

Season Preview: New Coach, Fresh Start for Johnson Crusaders Girls Varsity Basketball

8b9ae033b215df0d7e55_ALJ_Girls_Varsity_Basketball_Preview__1.JPG
ALJ head coach Joe Marino talks to the players before beginning ball-handling drills during the first team practice Monday, November 21. Marino was named the new head coach at a BOE meeting 11/15/16. Credits: Daniel Collins
5f058f49676c5c840625_ALJ_Girls_Varsity_Basketball_Preview__2.JPG
With a few players returning to the team from 2 years ago, as well as new faces, the girls basketball team is determined to become more competitive and better than ever before. Credits: Daniel Collins
3bafde6e4e1ae9b97796_ALJ_Girls_Varsity_Basketball_Preview__3.JPG
ALJ senior Meaghan Gallagher and sophomore Bailey Rosemeier pictured during the team's cross-pass running drills, as Coach Joe Marino watches it. Credits: Daniel Collins
8e72d23142d25abb7ecf_ALJ_Girls_Varsity_Basketball_Preview__4.JPG
Junior Kristina Palella drives to the basket for a layup during the girls basketball practice on Monday, November 21. She, and the players are looking forward to working with head coach Joe Marino. Credits: Daniel Collins
f0241416172900c3a399_ALJ_Girls_Varsity_Basketball_Preview__5.JPG
Junior Danielle Hartzler and sophomore Victoria Zatko pictured during another part of the team's cross-pass running drills. Credits: Daniel Collins
6a81ef26668c90ca37a3_ALJ_Girls_Varsity_Basketball_Preview__6.JPG
Head coach Joe Marino says he's honored to be the new girls varsity basketball head coach. He hopes to help the team become more competitive in the upcoming 2016-17 season. Credits: Daniel Collins
8b9ae033b215df0d7e55_ALJ_Girls_Varsity_Basketball_Preview__1.JPG

CLARK, NJ -  As the 2016 fall sports season winds down at Arthur L. Johnson High School, the Johnson girls’ varsity basketball team started up practices, looking to build success as they begin a new season.

To add to that, there is a new voice leading the way for the Crusaders as the season gets underway.

Joe Marino was named the girls varsity basketball head coach on Tuesday, November 15 at a special board of education meeting.

Sign Up for E-News

“I am extremely excited, we have a lot of talent here,” Marino said. “I feel honored to work with a bunch of girls like this group. I’m hoping that we can do very well in our conference, in the counties and be very competitive in the states.”

Marino, who also coaches the Crusaders’ freshman football team in the fall, replaces Michele Sharp.

Also joining the girls’ basketball coaching staff is Marjana Banic.  Banic, an ALJ graduate, was the school’s shot put record holder from 1997 until 2015 and still holds the school record in the discus throw.

Joe Sortino, who also coaches freshman football with Marino, will assist the team in a volunteer role.

Last year, the team finished with a 9-14 record, losing the Union County Tournament First Round matchup to Summit HS. They played in the NJSIAA Central, Group 2 state playoffs, but lost to Point Pleasant Boro HS in the first round.

The teams’ first practice, on Nov. 21, consisted of ball-handling drills, cross-pass rushing drills and layups at each basket in the gym, along with conditioning drills before the practice came to an end. 

Team members were enthusiastic about the season ahead.

“I’m definitely really excited,” ALJ junior Amy Wysocki said. “I think a new coach this season is going to bring a fresh start to the team. The difference in coaching style will bring a good vibe to our team and hopefully, we’ll be able to play well this season.”

Last year, Wysocki played in 19 games, making 41 baskets, 11 three-point baskets, and averaged 6.2 points per game.

Seniors on this year’s team include Sabrina Parin, Callie Readie, Meaghan Gallagher and Jessica Gannon. Gallagher and Gannon last played on the team in the 2014-15 season.

The seniors are looking forward to a leadership role, and hope to leave their mark on the school’s basketball legacy.

“I expect nothing but positive energy with a new coach this season,” Parin said. “I feel like we want to work hard for [Coach Marino], so I think there’s nothing but success in our future.”

Juniors on this year’s team include Wysocki, Danielle Hartzler, Kellie Bonaccorso and Kristina Palella.

“I’m pretty excited because we have a new coach, some players that come back this season, whether they’ve previously played before or are new,” Bonaccorso said. “I think it’s going to be a good season, we’re all going to do good, we’re going to work hard and win.”

The underclassmen from last year’s team include sophomores Bailey Rosenmeier and Victoria Zatko.

“I love basketball, so I am very excited for the season to start,” Rosenmeier said. “I think we have a good group of girls coming back, plus we have some girls returning to the program. Coach Marino has made a great first impression, and everyone is excited about the prospects for this year.”

Rosenmeier played in 16 games last year, making 15 baskets, averaging 2.7 points per game for the Crusaders last year.

The regular season for the girls’ varsity basketball team starts on Saturday, Dec. 17 at 11:00 a.m., a home game against New Providence HS.

With returning players at the core, and new players joining in, Crusaders girls’ basketball is looking to achieve great things in the 2016-2017 season, with deep runs into the county and state tournaments.  But first, they turn their attention to a winning season with a new coach at the helm.

---------------

TAPintoClark.net  is Clark’s official electronic news source and the only free daily paper.  Sign up for our daily enews  and follow us on Facebook and Twitter  @TAPintoClark. Reach our local readers, advertise your business here, email clark@tapinto.net.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

Clark

Kumpf Students Creating Works of Art!

May 22, 2018

CLARK, NJ - Students in Mr. Baker's Life Skills Class at Carl H. Kumpf Middle School recently participated in a special art lesson joining Mr. Peitz’s class. The students worked on free hand drawings using pictures they chose.  Some of the pictures included a lion, a dog, cat, and a video game character. Students also worked with ceramics creating art ...

Vehicular Homicide Charges for Driver of Paramus School Bus

May 24, 2018

MORRISTOWN, NJ - The driver of a school bus involved in a crash on Route 80 last week that killed two people faces two counts of second-degree vehicular homicide/death by auto, it was announced today.

The driver, Hudy Muldrow, 77, of Woodland Park, attempted to make an illegal U-Turn on the highway in an attempt to find his way to Waterloo Village, the planned destination of the bus that was ...

I'm Excited To See What Sara Todisco Will Do As Mayor.

May 25, 2018

My first time hearing the name Sara Todisco was when reading about her in a newspaper article during her first year on Council. A couple citizens made comments about her age and how they thought she was too young on an anonymous online forum. I responded that here was a young person eager to get involved in our town. We should give her a chance and if we weren't satisfied, we could ...

AtlantiCast

AtlantiCast: Episode 15

On this week’s AtlantiCast, learn some important tips for controlling and avoiding diabetes from an Atlantic Health System expert, see how Atlantic Health is advancing cutting-edge research, hear what’s being done to keep health care environmentally friendly and much more!

 

Obituaries

Jun 29, 1927 - Apr 23, 2018
Margaret (Peggy) Kirk Leonard passed away Monday, April 23rd, surrounded by her loved ones. Peggy ...
Read more

NJ American Water Working to Replace Water Mains in Clark

May 16, 2018

VOORHEES, NJ – New Jersey American Water plans to replace roughly 1,200 feet of water main lines in Clark according to a notice released on May 16.

The document indicates the company is replacing main along Georgian Drive, from Ross Street to Sherwood Circle that was originally installed in the 1930s.  Two hydrants and 29 utility-owned service lines along the pipeline route will ...