Crusader News

Three Arthur L. Johnson HS Students Receive “We Care” Scholarships

L-R Kaitlyn Hogan, Emma Knutson and Dana Evelina

CLARK, NJ - Three Arthur L. Johnson High School seniors  were given We Care Awards by the Union County School Counselors Association (UCSCA) last Thursday evening.   Dana Evelina, Kaitlyn Hogan and Emma Knutson were recognized for their contributions of time, energy, talent and commitment to various community-focused activities.

According to school officials, the UCSCA each year seeks to honor conscientious and giving students for their outstanding contributions to their school, community, church, or family.  Each of the seniors this year have served others in the work they have performed.

Dana Evelina was awarded a $500 scholarship for her involvement in her church and commitment to the Clark Volunteer Emergency Squad. She will be attending Union County College in September. Emma Knutson, bound for Rutgers University in the fall, was also awarded $500 in recognition of her volunteer tutoring and vocal performances.  Kaitlyn Hogan, a future Monmouth University student, was presented with a $1,000 scholarship in honor of her commitment to raising Breast Cancer awareness.

Sign Up for E-News

---------------  is Clark’s official electronic news source and the only free daily paper. 

Sign up for our free daily enews.

Download the TAPinto App!   Click here for Android.  Click here for iOS.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

Sign Up for E-News


Upcoming Events

Thu, June 21, 1:15 PM

Calvary Lutheran Church, Cranford

Mid-Week Worship & Service

Thu, June 28, 1:15 PM

Calvary Lutheran Church, Cranford

Mid-Week Worship & Service

Reminder: Free Electronics Recycling for Union County Residents, June 30

June 14, 2018

Union County is offering a free electronics recycling event on Saturday, June 30 from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at the Union County Vocational-Technical Schools campus, 1776 Raritan Road in Scotch Plains.

Any Union County resident may bring unwanted televisions, computers, printers, and other electronic equipment to this e-cycling site. There is a limit of six items per ...

Cranford Resident Rode His Bike Nearly 500 Miles

June 14, 2018

CRANFORD – Cranford resident Kent Lucas was one of 150 commuters who embraced a more sustainable commute by trading in his car keys for pedals during TransOptions’ annual Bike to Work Challenge.

Through TransOptions’ GoForGood app, riders tracked their bicycle commute trips and miles from May 1st through May 31st. Participants who joined the challenge were entered to win ...

Get Empowered to Help Prevent Suicide

June 8, 2018

Over the past week social media and the news have been filled with stories and articles encouraging people to seek help if they’re in emotional distress. There have been countless articles about the need to break the silence around the topic of mental health and suicide, and I am encouraged by the support people are extending to others.

Often, the death by suicide by prominent ...


AtlantiCast: Episode 16

Summer is in the air, and the latest episode of AtlantiCast is ready to help you enjoy some fun outdoors while staying safe! This week’s episode opens with tips for sunscreen usage from Atlantic Health System’s Chief Medical and Academic Officer, Dr. Jan Schwarz-Miller. You’ll also learn about how Atlantic Health System is advancing the future of health care through ...


Jun 29, 1927 - Apr 23, 2018
Margaret (Peggy) Kirk Leonard passed away Monday, April 23rd, surrounded by her loved ones. Peggy ...
Read more