CLARK, NJ - On Thursday, May 23, the Arthur L. Johnson Athletic Department held a breakfast in honor of the 2019 Spring Athletics G.P.A. Challenge winners.  This season two teams tied for the first time in the history of this awarded event.  

The Girls’ Track and Field team and the Boys’ Tennis team shared an identical 4.01 G.P.A .  Both teams were awarded the ceremonial breakfast.  The event, sponsored by the Athletic Department, was held in the Arthur L. Johnson High School Cafeteria.

“The Athletic Department is extremely proud of all the members of the Girls’ Track and Field Team and the Boys’ Tennis Team. The teams were able to balance athletics and academics at the highest level, not only competing in the State Tournament in the spring but also excelling in the classroom, which is evident by the cumulative G.P.A. of 4.01 that the teams held throughout their seasons. They are a model of what it means to be a student athlete and the Clark School District is proud of all of their accomplishments,” said Gus Kalikas, ALJ High School Athletic Director. 

Sign Up for E-News

The Athletic Department at Arthur L. Johnson High School has instituted this honor to for student athletes. The Crusader G.P.A. Challenge is awarded each season to the team that finishes with the highest overall G.P.A. amongst athletic teams. The athletes are presented with certificates, have their team memorialized on a plaque, and be invited for a “Breakfast with the A.D.” to celebrate their actions both in the classrooms and on the fields.

Members of the Girls’ Spring Track & Field Team include: Sarah Sceptowski, Gianna Caldiero, Gia Colicchio, Carly Tarentino, Julia Kalynchuk, Shailynn Rapp, America Renteria, Gina Rizzuto, Taylor Turek, Jenna Wiese, Paige Kelly, Kayla Kowalenko, and Natalya Torres.

Members of the Boys’ Tennis Team include: Matthew Cassidy, Seth Guzman, John Juzefyk, Jacob Mallik, Anthony Neyra, Kyle Perednia, Christopher Warnick, Brandon Costa, Raymond Torres, Kyle Briscese, Robert Lukasiewicz, Andy Zheng, Anthony Bogash, Cody Downing, Toan Le, and Ethan Nobre.


Wait a minute, you aren’t getting TAPinto Clark news delivered every day?  Now you know why your neighbor knows what’s going on and you don’t.   Sign up for enews  so next time you will be in the know too!