Press Releases

Arthur L. Johnson Crusader Football Scholarships Awarded at Post-Season Banquet


On March 04, 2018, the Arthur L. Johnson Crusader Football Team held their annual post-season awards banquet. Head Football Coach Anthony DelConte presided over the event as all athletes were honored for their contributions to Crusader Football. In addition, numerous scholarships were awarded to deserving student athletes throughout the evening. The night culminated with the showing of the 2017 Crusader Football Team’s highlights. It was a wonderful evening to celebrate both past and present Crusaders and continues to keep the tradition of Crusader Football alive and well.

Below is a recap of the scholarships awarded throughout the evening:

The Collegiate Athlete of the Year

Sign Up for E-News

The Collegiate Athlete of the Year honors a former Crusader that has gone on to succeed both in the classroom and on the athletic fields. The 2017 recipient was Vincent Banek, who played collegiate football at Bentley University.

The Henry A. Varriano Memorial Award

Henry R.Varriano presents this award to a senior player who displays determination and a never give up attitude. The recipient of this award always puts Team Above Self --- Sacrificed Individuality for the Team --- Pushed himself to achieve greater heights --- Overcame Adversity --- and displayed perseverance. The Varriano Award is for a scholarship and plaque. --- The 2017 Varriano Award winner was Michael Bruno.

The Clark Pop-Warner Scholarship

Clark Pop-Warner annually gives a scholarship to an athlete that has come through the program and continued their careers in their respective sports while attending Arthur L. Johnson High School. The Clark Pop-Warner Scholarship is for a scholarship and plaque. The 2017 recipient is Athena Petronella.

Century 21 JRS Academic Achievement Award

George and Carene Sanguliano annually present the Century 21 JRS Academic Achievement Award to our Senior Football player with the highest Grade Point average. The Award includes a scholarship and plaque. This year’s 2017 Academic Achievement Award winner is Andrew Giamella.

The Dennis Carpini Memorial Scholarship

The Dennis Carpini Memorial Scholarship recipient receives a scholarship & plaque. It is presented to the senior football player who, like Dennis, overcame odds and had a true love of Crusader Football. The athlete must be a heart and soul competitor, a unifier, and a positive role model. The 2017 Dennis Carpini Memorial Scholarship goes to…Daniel Olenick.

The Coach Seymore “Red” Kelin Most Improved Player Scholarship

The Most Improved Player Scholarship recipient receives a scholarship & plaque. It is presented to the senior football player who through dedication, hard work, and perseverance has shown a tremendous improvement in the sport of football throughout their high school career. The 2017 Most Improved Player Scholarship goes to…Lorenzo DePaz.

The Don LaPenna Memorial Leadership Scholarship

The Don LaPenna Leadership Memorial Scholarship recipient receives a scholarship & plaque. It is presented to the senior football player who, like Don, overcame odds and had a true love of Crusader Football. The athlete must be a great role model who displays excellent leadership qualities and was dedicated to his team. The 2017 Don LaPenna Leadership Memorial Scholarship goes to…Thomas Bowen.

The William Waterson Memorial Scholarship

Officer Waterson made the ultimate sacrifice…he gave his life in the line of duty. He was brave, honest, and devoted to the job. Mr. Tom Maye, owner of Station Cab, presents this award to be displayed in our main trophy case and a scholarship to the senior who most exemplifies the character traits of Officer Waterson. This award speaks to sacrifice and commitment. The recipient set a new standard of leadership and character in our school and community. He has the innate ability to impact all students in our school. He is well liked, and respected, by his peers. The 2017 William Waterson Memorial Scholarship goes to…Joe Turek.

The Thomas Santaguida “Saint of the Year” Award

The loss of Thomas Santaguida devastated all of us. We lost a man we all loved and admired. When Mr. Santaguida came to Johnson in 1993, he had to replace one of the most respected and loved men in ALJ history in Lou Paragallo. He won everyone over with his dignity, his professionalism, his confidence, and most of all, his sense of sportsmanship and fair play. He was a mentor to us all and we became stronger from the experience. As a high school player at Plainfield Mr. Santaguida played football and basketball. His coaches and teammates say his fiery stile and zest for competition stood out even then. Those are the qualities that are celebrated in naming the 2017 Johnson Football “Saint of the Year”. --- The 2017 “Saint of the Year” is…Brandon Rapp.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


Upcoming Events

Thu, June 21, 1:15 PM

Calvary Lutheran Church, Cranford

Mid-Week Worship & Service

Thu, June 28, 1:15 PM

Calvary Lutheran Church, Cranford

Mid-Week Worship & Service

Reminder: Free Electronics Recycling for Union County Residents, June 30

June 14, 2018

Union County is offering a free electronics recycling event on Saturday, June 30 from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at the Union County Vocational-Technical Schools campus, 1776 Raritan Road in Scotch Plains.

Any Union County resident may bring unwanted televisions, computers, printers, and other electronic equipment to this e-cycling site. There is a limit of six items per ...

Cranford Resident Rode His Bike Nearly 500 Miles

June 14, 2018

CRANFORD – Cranford resident Kent Lucas was one of 150 commuters who embraced a more sustainable commute by trading in his car keys for pedals during TransOptions’ annual Bike to Work Challenge.

Through TransOptions’ GoForGood app, riders tracked their bicycle commute trips and miles from May 1st through May 31st. Participants who joined the challenge were entered to win ...

Get Empowered to Help Prevent Suicide

June 8, 2018

Over the past week social media and the news have been filled with stories and articles encouraging people to seek help if they’re in emotional distress. There have been countless articles about the need to break the silence around the topic of mental health and suicide, and I am encouraged by the support people are extending to others.

Often, the death by suicide by prominent ...


AtlantiCast: Episode 16

Summer is in the air, and the latest episode of AtlantiCast is ready to help you enjoy some fun outdoors while staying safe! This week’s episode opens with tips for sunscreen usage from Atlantic Health System’s Chief Medical and Academic Officer, Dr. Jan Schwarz-Miller. You’ll also learn about how Atlantic Health System is advancing the future of health care through ...


Jun 29, 1927 - Apr 23, 2018
Margaret (Peggy) Kirk Leonard passed away Monday, April 23rd, surrounded by her loved ones. Peggy ...
Read more