CLARK, NJ – The Clark Board of Education recently celebrated the achievements of students and teachers as part of its virtual Showcase of Success. Each day, Superintendent Grande has been recognizing the efforts of students and teachers through his daily automated announcements.

This year’s Governor’s Educators of the Year were recognized for educational excellence and their commitment to student learning. According to officials, the GEOYP recognizes “educational innovation, student achievement, the rewards of teaching, and important services outside the classroom environment that lead to student success.”

Superintendent Edward Grande expressed his thoughts about his staff and students’ achievements.  "These students and staff members displayed their greatness in a variety of ways.  We could not be prouder of them, especially at such a time as now."

Sign Up for Clark Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Educator’s honored this year include:

  • Janice Gossman – ALJ High School Educator of the Year - Art Teacher
  • Molly Cusick – ALJ High School Educational Services Professional of the Year- School Counselor
  • Thomas Peitz – Carl H. Kumpf Middle School Educator of the Year- Art Teacher
  • Steven Acosta – Carl H. Kumpf Middle School Educational Services Professional of the Year - School Counselor
  • Mary Jo Baker – Frank K. Hehnly School Educator of the Year- 3rd Grade Teacher
  • Cecilia Petela – Valley Road School Educator of the Year- 2nd Grade Teacher
  • Kristina Novello – Clark Preschool Educational Services Professional of the Year - Paraprofessional Aide

20 students were also recognized for earning perfect NJSLA scores on the 2019 Spring Assessment.  They are:

  • Meagan Lambert English Language Arts 10
  • Andrew Matos English Language Arts 10
  • Michael Olszewski Algebra 1
  • Madeline Carnesi-Silberstein English Language Arts 8
  • Jenna Grandal English Language Arts 8
  • Brett Makowsky English Language Arts 8
  • Brian Morris English Language Arts 8
  • Jack Nemeth English Language Arts 8
  • Robert Rooney English Language Arts 8
  • Grace Warnick English Language Arts 8
  • Matthew Buttelmann English Language Arts 7
  • Dillon Cahill English Language Arts 7
  • Stephen Ciccotelli English Language Arts 7
  • Kyle Gunsiorowski English Language Arts 7
  • Mark Hansen English Language Arts 7
  • Tania Oliveira English Language Arts 7
  • Nila Tasharofi English Language Arts 7
  • Grace Wright English Language Arts 7
  • Isabella Gomes Mathematics 6
  • Wiktor Sliwa Mathematics 5

25 students also received the State Seal of Biliteracy. These students needed to demonstrate a proficiency level of Intermediate-Mid in all four domains of a world language. In addition, they were required to demonstrate proficiency in English by meeting the State high school graduation requirements for English language arts or through attaining the appropriate cut score on the ACCESS for English Language Learners (ELLs) assessment.  This year’s students are:

  • Juan Acosta-Lopez Spanish
  • Vicente Afonso Portuguese
  • Justin Altamirano Spanish
  • Juliette Barakat Portuguese
  • Andres Barraza Spanish
  • Sandy Botros Arabic
  • Omar Brito-Vargas Spanish
  • Emi Budnik Polish
  • Briahna Castano Spanish
  • Andrea Coarite Spanish
  • Brandon Costa Portuguese
  • Elizabeth Gondek Polish
  • Julia Jaskiewicz Polish
  • Ashley Jimenez Spanish
  • Gabriella Lopez Spanish
  • Saul Lopez Spanish
  • Gabriella Matos Portuguese
  • Ariana Menes Spanish
  • Veronica Mierzejewski Polish
  • Gabriella Mintz Spanish
  • America Renteria Spanish
  • Julian Rodriguez Spanish
  • Adrian Skiba Polish
  • Oliwia Szostek Polish
  • Yahiree Yoplac Spanish

MORE:  Do You Have a 2020 Graduate?  Want to Celebrate Their Milestone?