CORAL SPRINGS, FL – This year’s presidential election won’t be the only political race on the minds of Coral Springs voters.

They’ll also have to decide on three City Commission seats (Seats 1, 3 and 5) in the general election on Nov. 3.

So far, two of the three races are contested, according to records at Coral Springs City Clerk’s office at the end of February.

Sign Up for Coral Springs Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

There’s no challengers for Seat 1 held by Mayor Scott Brook. He has received $14,043 in contributions, city campaign records show.

Five challengers are vying for Seat 3 held by Commissioner Larry Vignola, who is term-limited and can’t seek re-election.

They are Randal Cutter, Noor Fawzy, Andrew Kasten, Nancy Metayer and Jose Morera, according to the City Clerk’s office.

Based on campaign records, Cutter has received $6,550 in contributions;  Fawzy has received $10,439; Kasten has received $7,551; Metayer has received $7,589; and Morera has received $5,800.

And Seat 5 is a race between incumbent Commissioner Joy Carter and Cathy Remy.

According to campaign records, Carter has received $11,660. The records for Remy were not available.

All the candidates have until mid-June to qualify to run in the elections.

TAPinto Coral Springs will interview the candidates to understand the issues they are running on after they qualify to compete in the elections.