Cranford Elects Giblin & Maisonneuve

Jean-Albert Maisonneuve and Patrick Giblin celebrated their election at Kilkenny House in Downtown Cranford on Tuesday night. Credits: Leah Scalzadonna

CRANFORD, NJ – The unofficial results are in. Deputy Mayor Patrick Giblin can look forward to another term on the Cranford Township Committee alongside his running mate, newcomer Jean-Albert Maisonneuve. The pair celebrated their election Tuesday night with supporters at Kilkenny House in Downtown Cranford.

Though mail-in ballots have not yet been counted, the results are clear, according to results from the Township Clerk. Voter turnout in Cranford was just shy of 50 percent.

Cranford residents approved the New Jersey Construction Bond Act, which allows the state to sell $125 million in bonds to provide grants to libraries, with 3,888 “yes” votes and 2,469 “no” votes.

Sign Up for E-News

They also overwhelmingly approved question two, which dedicates moneys from state environmental contamination cases. Money from settlements with polluters must be spent on environmental cleanup. 4,507 votes were “yes” and 1,779 votes were “no.”

Board of Education members Lisa Carbone, Kurt Petschow Jr. and Kristen Mallon were re-elected with votes of 3,634, 2,995 and 2,737 respectively. Their opponent, Rita Della Valle, received 2,491 votes.

Board of Education member Daniel Demarco, who ran unopposed for a one-year term, received 3,204 votes.

“I feel great,” Maisonneuve said, who received 3,728 votes. “I’m humbled by all the efforts people put in for this and I look forward to doing everything we can for Cranford. This is just incredible and I’m a little speechless, and that’s rare. I’m really, truly honored by the opportunity and I really will do everything I can to make everybody proud.

Giblin, who received 4,157 votes, said “I’m looking forward to serving the residents of Cranford. I’m humbled by the results. I think we ran a great campaign, as did our opponents. We look forward to serving the residents of Cranford over the next couple of years.”

Giblin and Maisonneuve ran against republicans Andis Kalnins, who received 3,452 votes, and Richard Buontempo, who received 3,435 votes.

“I’m upset that we lost but I wish good luck to the new committee,” Kalnins said.

Buontempo was unavailable for comment.

In 2018, the Cranford Township Committee will consist of four democrats: Giblin, Maisonneuve, Mayor Thomas Hannen and Commissioner Ann Dooley. Commissioner Mary O’Connor is the remaining republican.

“I’m really appreciative of the number of people who came out to vote today, especially as the afternoon went on,” Hannen told TAPinto Cranford. “As the rain started to pour, people had enough pride in their community to come out and vote. No matter who they voted for, I was really impressed with the number of people [who voted], especially after the projections were only 40 percent. For Cranford and the state of New Jersey, I think it’s fantastic.”

Results remain unofficial until certification.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


County of Union to Fly Rainbow Flag for the First Time on June 4

May 24, 2018

ELIZABETH, NJ - A rainbow flag will fly for the first time at the Union County Courthouse in recognition of June as LGBTQ Pride Month.

The Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders has announced they are holding a public Pride Flag Raising Ceremony for Monday, June 4 at 1 p.m. on the steps of the historic Union County Courthouse on Broad Street in Elizabeth.

“Raising the rainbow flag ...

Suspect Charged in Fatal Hit-and-Run Flees Country

May 22, 2018

NORTH PLAINFIELD, NJ – A 36-year-old suspect charged in the hit-and-run death of a pedestrian May 15th has fled the country, according to Somerset County Prosecutor Michael H. Robertson.

Charges have been filed against Mario Infante, age 36, of New Street, Plainfield, following an investigation by detectives from the Somerset County Prosecutor's Office and North Plainfield ...

Cranford High School Madrigal Choir Spring Cocert

May 24, 2018

The Cranford High School Performing Arts Department closes its Spring Concert Season with the Madrigal Choir Concert on Sunday, June 3rd at 1:00pm at Trinity Church in Cranford, NJ.

The Madrigal Choir will be performing selections by Morley, Victoria, Rheinberger, Bernstein, and Moses Hogan. The performance is open to the public and free will donations will be accepted to benefit the Cranford ...

Cranford Police Blotter: DWI Arrest & More

May 22, 2018

The information provided does not represent the total scope of police activity. Individuals charged as a result of police investigations are merely an accusation. All defendants should be presumed innocent until proven guilty.

1. 05/17/2018 @ 2012 hrs.

North Avenue East and the Garden State Parkway 137 Exchange

Arrested: Charles McKoy, 19, North Plainfield

Arrested by: Ptl. James ...

Upcoming Events

Fri, June 1, 8:00 AM

Royce Brook Golf Club, Hillsborough Township

Liam's Room 5th Annual Charity Golf Outing

Giving Back Sports


Fri, June 1, 5:00 PM

Cranford Elks, Cranford

Spaghetti Dinner and Tricky Tray to Benefit Relay ...

Food & Drink

'Turning Off the Morning News' brings comic twist

‘Turning Off the Morning News’ tackles today’s issues with a comic twist

By Liz Keill

PRINCETON, N J – Despite the late night comics, no one quite captures the insanity of the political/social status world like Christopher Durang.

His latest play, “Turning off the Morning News” hit the ground running.  John Pankow as Jimmy addresses the audience, ...

'To Kill a Mockingbird' Sustains Timeless Appeal

SUMMIT, NJ – The Summit Playhouse provides a stellar production of a much loved classic, “To Kill a Mockingbird.”

The Harper Lee novel, later a Gregory Peck film and now a stage production, retains all the warmth, intensity and integrity that made it such an appealing hit in the 1960s. And there will be a new production on Broadway in December with a script by Aaron Sorkin ...

I totally Support Garwood Mayor Lombardo and His Team

May 22, 2018

A lot of people call me the “Voice of Garwood” because I usually have a lot to say. Those who know me know I only say things that I mean and that are truthful. I totally support our current mayor, Charles Lombardo, and his running mates, Jennyfer and Vincent, because I believe in them, and they are truthful. I would appreciate the people of Garwood coming together to re-elect Mayor ...