CRANFORD, NJ – The Cranford Township Committee honored girl scouts who received their Gold and Silver Awards at Tuesday night’s meeting.

Isabella Stoto, Ellen Rokicki and Julia Lachenauer received procalamtions and keys to the township for earning their Gold Awards after completing individual projects.

For her project, Stoto placed an environmentally friendly water station into Bloomingdale Avenue Elementary School. She also taught younger students about water conservation and plastic pollution.

Sign Up for Cranford Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

“Some of the most rewarding experiences of my life are the moments I give back to my community,” Stoto said. “From this project, I learned invaluable leadership skills while fulfilling my goal to serve my community. It also gave me the opportunity to mentor other girl scouts, showing them that they too can serve their community and make a difference in the world.”

Rokicki created “buddy bins,” boxes of games and activities for children to connect with their siblings who are undergoing treatment in hospitals.

“The goal of ‘buddy bins’ was to support families during times of crisis and to help brothers and sisters stay connected,” Rokicki said. “I’d like to thank all those who helped me with my project.”

Lachenauer created a free, drop-in tutoring program for students in kindergarten through fifth grade for her Gold Award project.

“It’s been very helpful for both teens who tutor and the children themselves, because children will get academic systems that will stop them from falling behind in class, whereas the teens will gain life experience in serving their community and being a teacher, which is very important, especially while we’re in high school and before we go out in the world,” Lachenauer said.

Additionally, Cranford Girl Scouts who achieved their Silver Award were honored by the township committee as well. Those scouts are: Rachael Durant, Erin Miklencic, Amanda Newport, Emily Bornstad, Margaret Garcia, Kaitlin Frees-Kroboth, Tiffany Phan, Lila Schau and Madison Zarzecki.

“The ladies who were honored this evening made us very, very proud,” Mayor Thomas Hannen, Jr. said. “We thank them for everything they’re doing on behalf of the community.”