The Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders is pleased to announce that the New Jersey Association of Counties (NJAC) presented Union County Freeholder Angel G. Estrada with the “Maurice Fitzgibbons Freeholder of the Year Award” earlier this month at the Association’s 62nd annual celebration of county government in Atlantic City. 

The award is named after the long-time Hudson County Freeholder who passed away in December of last year and served as NJAC President in 2001. 

“Freeholder Estrada is a tremendous asset to NJAC serving as chair of the Association’s finance committee and member of the personnel committee.  His insightful, thoughtful, and solution driven analysis on issues that impact county governments throughout the state is invaluable and this award is well deserved,” said NJAC President and Warren County Freeholder Rick Gardner. 

Sign Up for E-News

Estrada a five-term Freeholder first elected in 1999, was appointed in January this year as Chairman of NJAC’s Finance Committee.

“It’s a great honor to be the first recipient of this award named in honor of Maurice Fitzgibbons, a fellow Freeholder who I held in high regard,” Estrada said. “I would like to thank NJAC for this selection, and look forward to continuing my work with this fine organization.”

NJAC is committed to advocating for legislation, regulations, and policy directives that empower county governments to operate more effectively and efficiently. 

As a non-partisan organization that represents the only true regional form of government in the State with a unified and proactive voice, NJAC is dedicated to advancing innovative programs and initiatives for the sole purpose of saving valuable taxpayer dollars.

For more information about NJAC visit for additional details.  For all Union County information visit or call the Public Info Line toll free, (877) 424-1324.