CRANFORD - Mayor Patrick Giblin (D) and Commissioner Jean-Albert Maisonneuve (D) have announced that they will not seek reelection to the Cranford Township Committee this November. 

"I am honored to have served Cranford for the past five years and look forward to continued service over the next nine months and in the future," said Giblin. "My focus over the next months will be to guide Cranford through this health and economic crisis. I look forward to getting through this challenging time with my fellow residents."

Giblin was first elected to the Township Committee back in 2015 to fill the unexpired term of former Township Committee member Lisa Adubato, who resigned to take a position as a State Superior Court Judge. Giblin would later go on to serve as Deputy Mayor and has served as Mayor the past two years. 

Sign Up for Cranford Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Maisonneuve was elected to the Township Committee back in 2017.

Cranford is governed under the Township form of government. The five-member Township Committee is elected directly by the voters at-large in partisan elections to serve three-year terms of office on a staggered basis, with either one or two seats coming up for election each year as part of the November general election in a three-year cycle.

The Committee members elect a chairman of the committee who assumes the title of Mayor and another who is selected as Deputy Mayor. Both positions carry one-year terms. Four of the committee members take on departmental oversight assignments as Commissioner of Finance, Commissioner of Public Safety, Commissioner of Public Works and Engineering, and Commissioner of Public Affairs. The Mayor of Cranford does not take on a departmental assignment. The Township Committee is a part-time body and the township government is run day-to-day by the Township Administrator and various department heads.

The Democrat Ticket for this November will consist of Brian Andrews and Jason Gareis, while Chrissa Stulpin and Gina Black will lead the Republican Ticket. 

Current Cranford Township Government:

Township Administrator - Jamie Cryan 

Mayor - Patrick Giblin (D)

Deputy Mayor and Commissioner of Finance - Kathleen Miller Prunty (D)

Commissioner of Public Works and Engineering - Thomas Hannen, Jr. (D)

Commissioner of Public Safety - Jean Maisonneuve (D)

Commissioner of Public Safety - Mary O'Connor (R)