CRANFORD – After five days of physical training and classroom instruction, the 13th session of the Cranford Police Youth Academy held its Graduation Ceremony on Friday.

The academy is intended to give Cranford juveniles the opportunity to be introduced to law enforcement through a simulated police academy environment. It ran from Monday, July 8th through Friday, July 12thand was comprised of 49 cadets. In his opening remarks, Detective Steven R. D’Ambola that the academy started with 51 cadets but two dropped out. 

Physical training consisted of running, push-ups, sit-ups, pull-ups, an obstacle course, and various other exercises. During the military drill portion, the cadets learned how to stand at attention, complete facing movements, properly salute, and march as a unit.

Sign Up for Cranford Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Classroom instruction included motor vehicle stops, patrol operations, crime scene processing, water rescue, firearms safety, DWI enforcement, gang awareness, first aid/CPR, traffic investigations, and much more.

Members of the United States Marine Corps, United States Secret Service, Union County S.W.A.T., Union County Police Department Bomb Squad, and many more departments volunteered their time to make presentations to the cadets during classroom instruction.

This year's Youth Police Academy was dedicated to the late Honorary Police Officer Ray Schwartz.

Cranford Police Department Youth Police Academy 13th Session Graduates:

Dylan Amrose

Julien Beato

Brendan Berry

Olivia Bufkin

Danielle Burke

Joscelin Busse

Jack Corcoran

Gabriel DaSilva

Alexis Delacuesta

Jack Donnelly

James Donnelly

Grace Donnelly

Emily Doyle

Mark Doyle

Brian Espasa

Daniela Gebert

Owen Giblin

Allison Gluck

Kevin Gormley

Matthew Greene

Ryan Gregersen

Arthur Kennedy

Joshua Ketschke

Karina Kilbashian

Ryan Kilbashian

Louis Kruk

Ava Lanier

Valerie Lynn

Riley Manning

Mason Mannix

Ryan McCarthy

Daniel Morrow

Ethan Patterson

Evan Patterson

Gabrielle Patterson

Bento Rodelo

Jack Schwartz

Drew Shusterman

Tadas Simone

John Stuble

Leo Benjamin Sweeney

Joseph Theophilakos

Jamison Alex Thomas

Matthew Tully

Matthew Weiland

Faith Williams

Hope Williams

Owen Younger

Jacob Zapoticzny