Denville Residents Invited to Morris Freeholders Reorg

Morris County Freeholder Doug Cabana Credits: County of Morris
Lt. Gov. Kim Guadagno Credits: County of Morris

MORRISTOWN, NJ - Denville residents, and all Morris County residents, are being invited to attend a "public reception" prior to the county freeholders' annual reorganization meeting on Friday.

The reception, scheduled for 6 p.m., will precede the 7 p.m. reorganization meeting at which recently re-elected freeholders Doug Cabana, of Boonton, Kathy DeFillippo, of Roxbury, and Tom Mastrangelo, of Montville, will take oaths of office from Lt. Gov. Kim Guadagno for new three-year terms. New county Sheriff James Gannon also will be sworn in by Guadagno

The reorganization meeting is slated to take place at 7 p.m., in the public meeting room of the county’s Administration and Records Building at 10 Court St. in Morristown

Sign Up for E-News

At the session, Morris County Freeholder Cabana will officially take over as freeholder director, replacing DeFillippo, who is stepping down after two years as director. Morris County Freeholder Deborah Smith, a Denville resident, will also be at the session as well as fellow freeholders Hank Lyon of Montville and Christine Myers of Mendham.

Public parking for the event is available in the Schuyler Place garage, one block from the county administration building, and in nearby public lots on Cattano Avenue. There is also street parking in the vicinity.

Cabana is the longest serving member of the board, having joined in 1997. He is a former freeholder director, elected to the position by fellow board members in 2000 and 2001. Cabana served as deputy director in 1998, 1999, 2011 and 2012.

"A past president of the New Jersey Association of Counties, it was under his leadership in 2006 that the association became an initial driving force behind the now popular concept of 'shared services,' said a statement from the county. "Cabana will continue in 2016 as Morris County’s representative to that statewide association, a role he has held since 1999."

Cabana, a lawyer, was mayor of Boonton for six years and a member of the township’s governing body for 11 years.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


More Than Just Kindness for Roxbury Student Adored by Tragically Killed Boy

April 17, 2018

ROXBURY, NJ – She lost her 10-year-old son three years ago in a boating accident on Lake Hopatcong, but Laurie D’Amico is sure her beloved Christopher speaks to her all the time. It’s subtle but firm, she says; messages that come as sparks of recollection, inspiration or intuition.

One of those unexpected inklings led Laura and her husband Chris to a jewelry ...

Lake Hopatcong 'Floating Classroom' Launched at Roxbury

April 13, 2018

ROXBURY, NJ – The Lake Hopatcong Foundation on Wednesday launched onto Lake Hopatcong its long-awaited "floating classroom" educational vessel. The launch took place at Lake Hopatcong State Park in Landing.

The 40-foot covered catamaran pontoon boat seats 40. It will be used to teach area students and the public about Lake Hopatcong. The boat, built by ...

New Jersey Fashion Companies Capitalize on State Resources to Grow

April 19, 2018

NJ Business Action Center recently assisted Adore Me and Better Team USA to identify space and financing.

The U.S. apparel market is the largest in the world, valued at over 360 billion dollars. However, the market has been disrupted by the rise of e-commerce, and is moving beyond established locations like NYC’s garment district. 

That said, like every industry, fashion ...

April is STD Awareness Month and Get Yourself Tested Month

April 19, 2018

April is Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STD) Awareness Month, a national campaign to increase awareness about education, treatment, and prevention of STDs.  

STDs are common, affecting 1 in 2 sexually active people during their lifetime - and most people don't know they are infected.  The rate of STDs is increasing, with a 68% increase in bacterial sexually transmitted ...

Upcoming Events

Thu, April 19, 6:00 PM

The Park Savoy, Florham Park

CASA Casino Night

Arts & Entertainment Food & Drink Giving Back Government Law & Justice

Thu, April 19, 7:00 PM

Enzo’s Pizzeria, Budd Lake

Dave Murphy to Headline at Acoustic Open ...

Arts & Entertainment


Fri, April 20, 6:30 PM

New Jersey Vasa Park, Budd Lake

CEC's Wine Tasting and Silent Auction

Food & Drink Giving Back


AtlantiCast: Episode 14

On this week’s AtlantiCast, an internationally recognized orthopedic oncologist takes a leadership role at Atlantic Health System, see the newest weapon in the fight against HPV-related cancers, Atlantic Health System leads the Castle Connolly / Inside Jersey Rankings, and much more!


The Truth About My Reading

The Truth About My Reading

I didn't get my Composition and Literature teacher at Montclair State College at all. A crusty old man with a dour disposition, Mr. Smith always seemed angry and rude. He appropriately intimidated freshmen, even me, an English major, who found this common core course beneath my dignity. Frankly, as a graduate of Highland Park High School, and a survivor of Mrs.

The German Girl

The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa (Washington Square Press, 2016)

For each of the twelve million victims murdered during World War II there is a gutwrenching story to be told. I have read hundreds of memoirs, biographies, plays, and novels that recount the stories of the martyrs; some are exceptional, some are fair. The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa, an award-winning journalist, ...