DENVILLE-- The Morris Knolls High School celebrated the students that were selected as candidates for the National Honor Society during their special induction ceremony on April 23. The students selected for the National Honor Society exemplfy characteristics of leadership, scholarship, character and service to their high school and town community. 

Tabitha Rodriguez is the advisor to the Morris Knolls Honor Society. Rodriguez is currently the interim vice principal at Morris Knolls High School. Rodriguez has a hand in helping select who is invited to be inducted, which is not an easy task as all the applicants are extremely qualified. 

During the ceremony, there was a short period of entertainment. Morris Knolls High school juniors and inductees, Haley Venezia and Jared Badalamenti performed Written In The Stars from the Broadway musical, Aida, while inductee Colleen O'Donnell accompained them on piano. O'Donnell also played Danza de la Moza Donosa on piano prior to the ceremony closing.  Venezia was extremely happy and jumped at the chance to perform at the ceremony. 

Sign Up for E-News

"I was so excited to perform at the induction ceremony because I was able to do what I love with two of the most talented people I know. It was great to have the opportunity to perform with my friends at such a prestigious ceremony. I was asked by my choir teacher to perform. The administrators usually ask for some of the students who are a part of the choir or theatre departments at Knolls to perform, so naturally I accepted. It was an honor to be asked, and I was so grateful for the opportunity." Venezia said happily. 

The National Honor Society is not an easy organization to be accepted into. Students must have a 90.0 average and be heavily involved in the Morris Knolls and Denville communities. Students must also write a 500 word essay about why they believe they should be chosen to become inducted into the Morris Knolls Honor Society. After all those steps, it's up to a panel of faculty and school administrators to choose who gets a coveted spot in the National Honor Society. Morris Knolls High School Principal William Cleffi shared that he is truly amazed at how dedicated his students are with both the Denville community as a whole and the Morris Knolls High School community.

"The amount of hours these students spend volunteering, their rigourous courses that they take in school, and the numerous things they do at Morris Knolls High School is amazing. These students are certainly dedicated." Cleffi told the audience during the ceremony. 

The following students were inducted at tonight's ceremony: Richa Amin, Elyssa Arcibal, Brandon Armitt, Katherine Atkinson, Jared Badelamenti, Swathi Balaji, Corrine Bow, Kristen Bowe, Julia Buckingham, Michael Chapman, Brian Chegwidden, Esther Chia, Matthew Clark, Elizabeth Clayton, Julia Clayton, Rachel Cohen, Jack Cook, Brent Costantino, Erin Cougle, Kyler Coutts, Angela Cunningham, Taylor Dal Bon, Kyle DeFranco, Olivia DiTrolio, Matthew Dottinger, Dean Drugac, Kendall Easley, Chiyere Emili, Kasey Felix, Kaitlin Ford, Angela Frugone, Courtney Gehring, Amanda Giarratano, Katherine Gleeson, Sophia Goldberg, Kelly Huber, Logan Huston, Jillian Kelly, Nicholas Kern, Abagail Kirat, Micaela Lancaster, Kathryn Laufenberg, Julia Lehmer, Dylan Lesch, Sean Lorenz, Paul MacMichael, Stephen MacMichael, Kimberly Mann, Kara Marinelli, Elizabeth Matthews, Megan McDonnell, Abigail Merrill, Juliet Moor, Lauren Morelli, Alexandra Nikolovski, Nicholas O'Connell, Colleen O'Donnell, Jennifer Ondish, Jayson Parisi, David Paulin, Lisa Phinisee, Megan Piser, Arjun Rajan, Nicole Rettino, Emily Roth, Patrick Rush, Forrest Rusyniak, Christina Sakelakos, Joelle Santiago, Prithwibir Sarkar, Caroline Sceurmann, Lauren Scornavacca, Tracy Sherr, Anna Sikes, Devyn Somogyi, Margaux Thys, Luke Urbanik, Adam VanBuskirk, Connor Vasile, Haley Venezia, Giaci Vitolo, Lauren von Berg, Christian Wichman, Danielle Willis, Claire Wisneski, Christopher Zullig and Kimberly Zullo. 

Congratulations to the newest members of the Morris Knolls National Honor Society.