DENVILLE, NJ -- National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced on Wed., May 13, this year’s National Merit $2500 Scholarship recipients. The 2,500 Merit Scholar designees were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 finalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. This year's cohort includes two from Denville: Rohan Amin and Helen Cedzidlo.

Amin attends Delbarton School in Morristown and likely will pursue a career in applied mathematics. Cedzidlo attends Morris Knolls High School and aspires to be a biochemist. 

According to the release from the NMSC, National Merit $2500 Scholarship awardees are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The number of winners named in each state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the nation’s graduating high school seniors. The scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised information submitted by the finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.

Sign Up for Denville Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

NMSC finances most of these single-payment National Merit $2500 Scholarships.


Sign up for our FREE daily eNews.

Like us on Facebook @DenvilleTAP and follow us on Twitter @DenvilleTAP.

Download the TAPinto App for FREE in the Google Play Store and the Apple Store today. Search for “tapinto” or “”

Got a news tip? Email us at