EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ- Newly elected Republican Municipal Chairman Jesal Amin announced today that Dharmendra “Dhar” Khona will join the Republican ticket for Township Council in East Brunswick.  Khona will replace Tom Szaro on the ticket, who had to step aside for personal reasons. The remaining candidates on the ticket are Councilwoman Camille Clark and former school board member Curt Philipczak.

Khona, a project manager for a construction company in Monmouth County, has been an East Brunswick resident since 2005.  Since moving to the township, he has been an active volunteer, involved with the school district and in coaching and advising various youth sports programs.  He is also a member of the redevelopment commission and involved in the local Republican Club and Committee. 

Republican Committee Chairman Jesal Amin stated:

Sign Up for E-News

“We are incredibly lucky to have Dhar join the ticket.  Dhar is not a career politician, but a volunteer who puts the interest of our community first.  I have the utmost confidence in Dhar and know that he will work tirelessly to advance his many ideas about Mayor Cohen’s redevelopment scheme, and in improving East Brunswick in general.”

In response to his nomination, Khona stated:

“I am truly honored and humbled to be one of the Republican nominees for East Brunswick council.  I look forward to working with Camille and Curt to advance our ideas on how to make East Brunswick a better place to live, work and raise a family.  When I first got involved in town I was simply hoping to get involved with my children’s school and sports, but that changed when Mayor Cohen announced his poorly thought out redevelopment plan.  Raising a family in East Brunswick has allowed my family and I to live the American Dream, and I want my kids and future generations to be able to live that same dream.”

Inquiries may be sent to East Brunswick Republican Chair Jesal Amin at jesalamin2@gmail.com.

*Editor's Note:

There are three positions open on the East Brunswick Town Council.  The elections will be held Tuesday, November 6, 2018.

The Republican candidates are Camille Clark (incumbent,) Curt Philipczak, and Dhar Khona.

The Democratic candidates are Jim Wendell (incumbent), Sharon Sullivan, and Kevin McEvoy.