EVANSTON, IL - Three students from East Brunswick High School have been awarded National Merit Scholarships from the universities that they wish to attend.  This is an additional honor to already having been named National Merit Scholars by the College Board.  Rebecca Aizin, Tayana Roychowdhury, and Dominik Zajac will receive the four-year scholarships.

Today, National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced over 3,500 winners of National Merit Scholarships fi nanced by U.S. colleges and universities. Offi cials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the Finalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

An additional group of Scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2019 competition to about 4,100. This year, 173 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 95 private and 78 public institutions located in 43 states and the District of Columbia.

Sign Up for E-News

Additional recipients of college-sponsored awards will be announced on July 15. By the conclusion of this year’s competition, about 7,600 academic champions will have won National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million. 

Earlier this spring, NMSC announced winners of corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards and National Merit $2500 Scholarships.

Rebecca Aizin's probable career field is Journalism. She has received a National Merit Scholarship from Northwestern University.  Northwestern  is a major teaching and research institution whose undergraduate campus is located in Evanston, Illinois. Its full-time undergraduate enrollment includes 7,300 students pursuing programs of study in the Arts and Sciences as well as the specific professional schools of Education, Social Policy, Engineering, Journalism, Music, and Speech.

Tayana Roychowdhury's probable career field is Healthcare.  She has received a National Merit Scholarhsip from Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey.  Rutgers, which traces its beginnings to 1766, is the state university of New Jersey, enrolling undergraduates at 13 colleges (suburban and urban settings of 110 to 8,200 students) in New Brunswick, Newark, and Camden. Most of the colleges are residential. They offer study in a large variety of arts and science fields and many professional areas, such as Engineering, Pharmacy, Nursing, Environmental Sciences, Agriculture, and Performing Arts. Graduate degrees are offered in numerous fields.

Dominik Zajac's probable career field is Computer Engineering.  He has received a National Merit Scholarhsip from Northeastern University.  Founded in 1898, Northeastern University is a private research university located in Boston, Massachusetts. The University is a leader in interdisciplinary and use-inspired research, urban engagement, and the integration of classroom learning with real-world experience. They integrate rigorous classroom studies with experiential learning opportunities - anchored by the nation's largest, most innovative cooperative education program - designed to prepare students for a lifetime of achievement.