EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ -- The East Brunswick varsity football program has had just two head coaches in the last 36 years.

Andy Steinfeld will become the third head coach since 1983 to guide the Bears' program when they open their 2019 season at home against Old Bridge on Friday, Sept. 7. He succeeds Bob Molarz, who coached from 2013 through 2018 at East Brunswick after Marcus Borden had the reins of the program from 1983 through 2012.

Steinfeld played for Borden before graduating from East Brunswick in 1985, and now the hometown alumnus is charged with reinvigorating a program that has won just 17 games over the last eight seasons. East Brunswick was 2-9 last year.

Sign Up for E-News

An assistant coach for the last 23 years under both Molarz and Borden, Steinfeld said, "We are looking to improve on a 2-9 season last year. (We have) nine players coming back on defense. We're just looking to compete and get better every game."

Senior two-way linemen Youseff Gamel, Christian Richards and Matt Diaz, guard/linebacker Noah Keith, FB/LB Carlos Tapia, RB/DB Derrick Davis, TE/DE Sean Ring and WR/DB Brian Whitelock WR/DB are the returning players around whom Steinfeld can build around.That group also has prompted Steinfeld to suggest that the Bears' strength will be their defense. Gamel led the team in tackles and sacks (5.5) in 2019.

Juniors Zach Zebro and Matt DeGuida are competing for the starting quarterback job, although both could see plenty of action. Senior FB/LB Jay Bartus, junior lineman Thomas Wolfe, junior RB/DB Austin Percy, junior TE/DL Devin Kennedy and sophomore running backs Romeo Diaz and Noriano Smith are joining the varsity this season with opportunities to make sizable contributions.

Although East Brunswick hasn't had a winning season in awhile, the Bears in 2019 will not have to contend with quite as brutal a schedule as the one with which they were saddled in recent years. The Bears do not have to play Piscataway, Sayreville or Edison this season.


Sept. 6: Old Bridge, 7

Sept. 20: at Monroe, 7

Sept. 27: at South Brunswick, 6

Oct. 4: Montgomery, 7

Oct. 11: J.P. Stevens, 7

Oct. 18: at New Brunswick, 7

Oct. 25: Hillsborough, 7

Nov. 1: at Perth Amboy, 7