FLORHAM PARK, NJ- The Historic Preservation Commission will be hosting an open house at the Little Red Schoolhouse this Saturday, May 20th and Sunday, May 21st.
The building is one of Florham Park’s most iconic landmarks. Originating even before the creation of the borough in 1899, the school was active as “Columbia School District #5” in 1867. The schoolhouse continued operating as Florham Park Borough's only public school building until 1914 and was added to the National Registry of Historic Places in 1973. The building’s 150th birthday was in February, but to mark this very special year, the Historic Preservation Society will be hosting events throughout the year to help raise funds to keep the Little Red Schoolhouse standing as Florham Park’s mascot for years to come.
Saturday the Little Red Schoolhouse will open its doors from 10:00am to 4:00pm. The day will feature an Ice Cream Social at 2:00pm that is sponsored by Regal Bank. Additionally, Sunday’s event will run from 11:00am to 3:00pm and will feature coffee donated by Starbucks and donuts donated by Zizza’s from 11:00am until noon.
In addition to these scrumptious treats, all attendees will be able to avail themselves of the vast amounts of Florham Park themed goodies that the Historic Preservation Society has to offer. These novelties will include bookmarks, dog collars, puzzles, chocolate coins, pens and two different candles, one period appropriate and unscented, staying true to how candles would have been made in the 1860s, the red and apple scented in honor of Florham Park’s rich agricultural history. There is even a Florham Park themed children’s coloring book entitled “F is for Florham Park” that will take children through the alphabet with items and places from Florham Park’s history.
All donations and proceeds from the merchandise sales will go directly to the preservation of the Little Red Schoolhouse.
Don’t miss this opportunity to show your support for one of Florham Park’s shinning stars.