$3.2M Federal Grant Announced for Sandy Recovery


PATERSON, NJ – The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has awarded the Passaic Valley Sewerage Commission (PVSC) a $3,234,149 federal grant to assist in recovering from Hurricane Sandy.

“More than two years after Hurricane Sandy made landfall, we can still see the effects of this historic storm’s devastation,” said Rep. Bill Pascrell.  “As the result of a tidal surge overwhelming their facility, PVSC sustained widespread damage causing the interruption of services. This federal grant will make a significant investment in helping ensure PVSC is stronger and better prepared for future disasters.  Wastewater treatment facilities like PVSC provide a critical service in protecting our environment and the public's health, so their recovery must continue to remain a priority.”

The federal grant will assist PVSC with repairs to the Administration and Control Building that were damaged as a result of Hurricane Sandy.

Sign Up for E-News

PVSC services the following municipalities:

Contracted Municipalities

A municipality that connected to PVSC's main trunk sewer under PVSC's original 1911 contract or its eight supplemental amendments or a municipality that does not utilize the PVSC main trunk sewer for conveyance.


    City of Bayonne
    Township of Belleville
    Township of Bloomfield
    City of Clifton
    Borough of East Newark
    City of East Orange
    Borough of East Rutherford
    City of Garfield
    Borough of Glen Ridge

    Borough of Haledon
    Town of Harrison
    City of Jersey City
    Township of Kearny
    Borough of Lodi
    Township of Lyndhurst
    Township of Montclair
    City of Newark
    Borough of North Arlington

    Township of North Bergen
    Township of Nutley
    Township of Orange
    City of Passaic
    City of Paterson
    Borough of Prospect Park
    Borough of Rutherford
    City of Union City
    Borough of Wallington

Lessee Municipalities

A municipality that has entered into a lease agreement with PVSC for wastewater treatment services.


    Borough of Elmwood Park
    Borough of Fair Lawn
    Borough of Glen Rock
    Borough of Hawthorne
    Township of Little Falls

    Borough of North Haledon
    Township of Saddle Brook
    Township of South Hackensack

    Borough of Totowa
    Borough of Woodland Park
    Borough of Wood-Ridge

Non-Contracted Municipalities

A municipality within the PVSC service district that connects to the PVSC system through an agreement with a Contracting or Leasing Municipality.

    Township of Cedar Grove
    City of Elizabeth
    Township of Franklin Lakes

    City of Hackensack
    Borough of Hasbrouck Heights
    Township of Hillside

    Borough of North Caldwell
    Village of Ridgewood
    South Orange Village
    Township of West Orange

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

East Orange/Orange

School Crossing Guard Opportunities in Orange

July 20, 2018

ORANGE, NJ - The City of Orange Township is accepting applications for Part-Time School Crossing Guard for up to a minimum of 20 hours a week, with a starting salary of $12.02 hourly. Working under the supervision of the Police Department, duties include: facilitating safe passage of school children across high traffic streets and intersections in addition to other duties as ...

2nd Annual Love & Not Hate March Today in East Orange

July 13, 2018

EAST ORANGE, NJ - This morning the Rev. Al Sharpton will join East Orange Mayor Ted Green for their 2nd Annual Love & Not Hate March against gun violence at 8:00 AM. 

The March will begin at Hollywood Ave & Central Avenue in East Orange and will work its way to Oval Park. Once at the park there will be youth activities, vendors, music, school give-a-ways and much more.

How to Create a Powerful Case Study In-House

Last time, we looked at several popular niches for case studies. In this article, we want to outline a basic process for creating your own case studies using your in-house data.

1. Choose a Topic of Broad Interest

Chances are you have several projects you have worked on recently that would make a good case study. Choose one and start gathering your materials.

2. Choose a ...

Even More Valuable Case Study Topics

In the last article, we looked at finance and marketing topics that would make ideal case studies. This time, we want to continue looking at case studies that can help even complete beginners to the world of business improve their skills. We will look at customer relations, leadership and self-help topics.

Customer Relations

Customers are the lifeblood of any business, but it can be ...

More Essential Niches for Case Studies

Last time, we discussed how valuable business-related case studies can be in showing the way to success for aspiring entrepreneurs. In this article, we will be discussing two more important categories, finance and marketing. 


Finance case studies can offer valuable guidance for small businesses. Topics include:

* Budgeting

* Best accounting practices

  Automation ...