Christie Administration Announces Approval of Five Charter Schools to Open in September

Trenton, NJ – The New Jersey Department of Education today approved five charter schools to open in September for the 2014-2015 school year, including East Orange, Orange, Irvington and Newark.

“These approvals reinforce our commitment to providing New Jersey students access to high-quality public school options, regardless of economic and academic circumstances,” said Acting Education Commissioner David Hespe. “This Administration has made expanding opportunities for the children and parents of New Jersey a focal point for the Department, and these charter schools will give our students more choices to succeed.”

To receive approval, each charter school application must satisfy the Department’s rigorous multi-stage approval process, designed to identify the next high-quality charter schools.  As part of that process, the Department conducts a “preparedness review” to evaluate whether a charter applicant approved in a previous round has established the academic and operational components to offer a strong educational program. Applicants are also required to submit documentation showing compliance of state regulations to the Department by June 30, and then the Commissioner and Department staff review this information to determine which applicants will receive their final charter to open their doors in September.

Sign Up for E-News

“Charter schools in New Jersey are held to a high standard,” said Acting Commissioner David Hespe. “Our rigorous approval process is designed to ensure that these schools are prepared to provide students with a high quality education.”

Over the past three years, the Department has increased its oversight and accountability for charter schools. Through a partnership with the National Association of Charter School Authorizers (NACSA), the Department during that time has opened 24 new charter schools, closed 12 of the lowest-performing schools for poor academic performance or organizational and fiscal issues, and put another 21 schools on probation.

Local Area Charter Schools

Link Community Charter School

(Newark, Orange, East Orange, Irvington)


TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

East Orange/Orange

School Crossing Guard Opportunities in Orange

July 20, 2018

ORANGE, NJ - The City of Orange Township is accepting applications for Part-Time School Crossing Guard for up to a minimum of 20 hours a week, with a starting salary of $12.02 hourly. Working under the supervision of the Police Department, duties include: facilitating safe passage of school children across high traffic streets and intersections in addition to other duties as ...

2nd Annual Love & Not Hate March Today in East Orange

July 13, 2018

EAST ORANGE, NJ - This morning the Rev. Al Sharpton will join East Orange Mayor Ted Green for their 2nd Annual Love & Not Hate March against gun violence at 8:00 AM. 

The March will begin at Hollywood Ave & Central Avenue in East Orange and will work its way to Oval Park. Once at the park there will be youth activities, vendors, music, school give-a-ways and much more.

How to Create a Powerful Case Study In-House

Last time, we looked at several popular niches for case studies. In this article, we want to outline a basic process for creating your own case studies using your in-house data.

1. Choose a Topic of Broad Interest

Chances are you have several projects you have worked on recently that would make a good case study. Choose one and start gathering your materials.

2. Choose a ...

Even More Valuable Case Study Topics

In the last article, we looked at finance and marketing topics that would make ideal case studies. This time, we want to continue looking at case studies that can help even complete beginners to the world of business improve their skills. We will look at customer relations, leadership and self-help topics.

Customer Relations

Customers are the lifeblood of any business, but it can be ...

More Essential Niches for Case Studies

Last time, we discussed how valuable business-related case studies can be in showing the way to success for aspiring entrepreneurs. In this article, we will be discussing two more important categories, finance and marketing. 


Finance case studies can offer valuable guidance for small businesses. Topics include:

* Budgeting

* Best accounting practices

  Automation ...