(ORANGE, NJ) - On July 1, 2020, at 12 noon, there was a change in leadership in nonpartisan municipalities all over the State. In Orange, New Jersey, during a virtual meeting, two new members and one incumbent were sworn onto the Orange City Council. Incumbent Mayor, Dwayne Warren was also sworn in for his third term. Councilman Weldon Montague, III, Councilman Clifford Ross (also the Orange Democratic Chairman), and Incumbent Councilwoman Adrienne Wooten were sworn in by the City Clerk, Joyce Lanier.

Councilman Kerry J. Coley was later voted to be Council President. Councilwoman Tency A. Eason was voted to be Council Vice President. Both Coley and Eason spoke of being hopeful for future unity on the council. 

A schedule of future council meeting can be found here

TAPinto East Orange/Orange is an online newspaper serving East Orange and Orange as a part of a network of more than 80 franchised local news sites in NY, NJ, and FL. TAPinto recently won 3 of 5 excellence in local journalism awards by the Center for Cooperative Media in NJ. We are accredited by the NJ State Police, which is done through the New Jersey Press Association in which we are long-standing members. We take pride in providing the community with objective news, fact-finding reporting while featuring positive stories and awareness campaigns daily. Got a news tip or opinion? Interested in advertising? Looking to write a column or to provide freelance reporting? Email us at YourNews@tapinto.net. Sign up for our FREE daily eNews and follow us on Facebook.