Mayors of Four Central New Jersey Towns Will Gather on the Spot Where Their Communities Converge


Mayors from Edison, Plainfield, Scotch Plains and South Plainfield will gather at noon on Tuesday on the exact spot – at Woodland Avenue, north of Sprague Avenue in South Plainfield – where the borders of their four communities converge.

Tuesday’s gathering is meant to reaffirm the spirit of cooperation and friendship between the four neighboring towns. It also recreates a historic 1963 meeting at the same site by their predecessors, said Plainfield Mayor Adrian O. Mapp, who came up with the idea.

Joining Mapp for Tuesday’s “X Marks the Spot” event on Woodland Avenue will be Edison Mayor Thomas Lankey, South Plainfield Mayor Matthew P. Anesh and Scotch Plains Mayor Al Smith. Officials from throughout Central New Jersey have been invited to attend.

Sign Up for E-News

The Woodland Avenue site is the dividing line between Union and Middlesex Counties and the only place in Central New Jersey where north-south and east-west dividing lines meet to separate four towns and two counties, Mapp explained.

“Our four neighboring communities have maintained our cooperative spirit in service to our many residents for over a half-century,” Mayor Lankey said. “I am very proud to represent Edison in this historic re-dedication.”

“The goal of this event is to get the four municipalities together and recreate what happened back in 1963,” said South Plainfield Administrator Glenn Cullen. “We hope to have a manhole installed at the location with the seal of the four municipalities etched on it marking the spot for future generations.”

Participating in the May 25, 1963 gathering were Plainfield Mayor Robert C. Maddox, South Plainfield John George, Edison Mayor Anthony M. Yelencsics, and Scotch Plains Mayor Norman R. Lacombe. At that time, a temporary marker was painted on the spot.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

Sign Up for E-News


Upcoming Events

Wed, June 27, 12:15 PM

Law Office of Kenneth Vercammen, Edison

Wills and Estate Planning- Free Seminar



Tue, July 17, 6:00 PM

Westfield Presbyterian Church, Westfield

Youth Mental Health First Aid

Education Health & Wellness

Rutgers Takes Over New Brunswick Police Dispatch Service

June 21, 2018

NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ - Rutgers University will provide the city’s police dispatching services in a move that New Brunswick says will cut costs and put an end to dispatcher shortages that resulted in officers doing the job.

The city’s 12 current dispatchers will be laid off at the end of the day on June 30, and Rutgers will supply dispatchers as of July 1 under an agreement that city ...

Applications to Rutgers Jump Nearly 10 Percent; Increase from Out-of-State Students

June 15, 2018

NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ - Applications to Rutgers University this year increased 9.4 percent over last year, university President Robert Barchi told the Board of Governors at a meeting this week.

The university received nearly 45,000 applications this year, Barchi said.

That included a 20 percent increase in the number of students from out-side New Jersey applying to Rutgers, the university ...

New Jersey Launches NJ ABLE Accounts to Help Individuals with Disabilities Save for Expenses

June 24, 2018

New Jersey Human Services Commissioner Carole Johnson on Monday announced the launch of a major new program to help individuals with disabilities become more independent and better thrive in their communities.  

With the newly launched NJ ABLE program, individuals with disabilities can save tax-free for eligible expenses such as education, housing and transportation without ...

'Half Time' delivers with sterling cast

MILLBURN, NJ – The Paper Mill Playhouse is putting on a smashing new production of “Half Time” to round out its current season.

With actress Georgia Engel in an engaging performance, the cast also features Donna McKehnie, Andre De Shieilds and Lilias White, among a host of other talents.

The musical centers on an effort to have seniors perform a dance number during ...

Small Business Ownership vs. Entrepreneurship

Written by: Samuel K. Burlum, Investigative Reporter and author of The Green Lane, a syndicated column, Published on 6/18/2018

Tags: Business, Community, Crowdfunding, Economy, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Small Business

Source: So, which are you – a Small Business Owner or an Entrepreneur? We compare the similarities and differences between the two, so you can ...