LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 18 - Today's primaries in District 18 produced expected results, yet they set up a vital challenge for the upcoming elections in November. Here are the first results as of 9:00 on Tuesday, June 8, 2021.

One senator and two assembly members are elected from each of the 40 districts of New Jersey. The Senate and Assembly chambers are located in the State House in Trenton. The Legislature's main job is to enact laws. The Senate and General Assembly meet for about 40 sessions a year.

This year, the LD18 election involved a State Senator and two Assembly Members.

Sign Up for Edison Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

In the race for State Senator representing District 18, incumbent Democrat Patrick J. Diegnan, Jr., who is a member of the Middlesex County Democratic Organization faced a challenge from Mohin K. Patel of the Middlesex Democrats.  Diegnan won with 11,003 votes against Patel's 3,586.  He will face Middlesex County Republican Organization challenger Vihal R. Patel in the fall election cycle. Vihal R. Patel ran unopposed in this primary.

In the race for the NJ State Assembly representing District 18, Middlesex County Democratic Organization's Sterley Stanley, currently filling a vacancy left by Nancy J. Pinkin who was elected last year as the Middlesex County Clerk, joined fellow incumbent Democrat Robert J. Karabinchak in a race within the party.  They faced opponents from the Middlesex Democrats Lisa Salem and Maurice Alfaro, Jr. District residents voted for two candidates.

The results are as follows:

Karabinchak   10,405

Stanley   10,315

Salem     4,248

Alfaro      3,345

Karabinchak and Stanley will face Republicans Angela Fam and Melanie McCann Mott on November 2.  These candidates ran unopposed in the primary election.

*New Jersey's Legislative District 18 comprises East Brunswick, Edison, Helmetta, Highland Park, Metuchen, South Plainfield, and South River. The official results of the June 2021 Primary Election shall be certified by the County Board of Canvassers on or before June 22, 2021.