SOUTH PLAINFIELD, NJ – The four corners is the spot where Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico and Utah all meet at a common boundary. What many people do not know about South Plainfield, it too shares a common four corner boundary. This boundary separating four different towns is one of the few in New Jersey. In May of 1963 the municipalities of South Plainfield, Plainfield, Scotch Plains and Edison came together for a celebration at the spot which was covered in a May 27, 1963 Plainfield Courier News Story. This May 23rd at 12:00pm the Mayors of these four towns (South Plainfield, Plainfield, Edison and Scotch Plains) will come together once again and recreate that photo.

The common boundary is located on Woodland Avenue near Sprague Avenue. It is where north-south and east-west divide four towns and separate Middlesex and Union Counties.

“The goal is to get the four municipalities together and recreate what happened back in 1963,” said South Plainfield Administrator Glenn Cullen. “We hope to have a manhole installed at the location with the seal of the four municipalities etched on it marking the spot for future generations.”

Sign Up for E-News

“When the City of Plainfield first contacted me about the idea, I said let’s do it,” said Mayor Anesh. “I grew up in that area and knew the four towns met somewhere on Woodland Ave, it’s great to be able to come together with our neighboring municipalities to celebrate.”

Celebrate is a big part of the day’s festivities, as officials from throughout Central New Jersey are expected to descend on the “X Marks the Spot” location. Each of the four municipalities is scheduled to bring a local dish for the lunchtime event.

TAPinto South Plainfield will provide further updates to the “X Marks the Spot” celebration when more details are made available.