EDISON, NJ – The NAACP’s Metuchen-Edison Branch hosted its first meeting of the year on Thursday.  At the meeting, held at Thomas Jefferson Middle School in Edison, leaders of the organization were sworn into office. After the ceremony,  a panel discussed the issue of discrimination in the workplace.

Middlesex County Sheriff Mildred Scott, who is the first female Sheriff for the county of Middlesex and the first African-American Sheriff in the state, swore in the following 2019-2020 elected Executive Officers and Committee Chairs:

Reginald Johnson (President)

Sign Up for E-News

William Casey (1st Vice President)

Mary Martin (2nd Vice President)

Hyacinth Reynolds (3rd Vice President)

Linda Surujbali (Treasurer)

Felicia Adadevoh (Assistant Treasurer)

Bonita Calloway (Health and Fitness Chair)

Susan Judkins (Fund Raising Chair)

Chrystal McArthur (Scholarship/Education Chair)

Frank McArthur (Veteran Affairs Chair)

Elayne P. McClaine (Economic Development Chair)

E. Drew Moore (Juneteenth Celebration Chair)

Briane Peters (Communications Chair)

Roberto P. Sayers (Membership & Political Action Chair)

Stefan Symbleme (Young Adult Chair)

Keith Voos (Environmental Justice Chair)

The panel following the ceremony included Alvin Mallette, from the U.S Equal Employment Opportunity Commission and Princeton Employment Attorney Jacqueline Tillmann. Topics of discussion included discrimination, harassment, unpaid overtime, and wrongful termination.