EDISON, NJ  – Mayor Thomas Lankey today announced the appointment of a 10-person advisory committee to help the Township provide water service for 12,000 South Edison residential and commercial customers.

“I have appointed a Water Advisory Committee to help guide our path forward and to collectively brainstorm ways for Edison to organize and manage its reconstituted water utility,” Mayor Lankey said. 

The advisory panel was created after Edison voters resoundingly voted in favor of a referendum requiring the Township to retain ownership and begin the operation, management, control, and maintenance of the Township’s municipal water system. By voting in favor of the Ordinance, voters effectively precluded the Mayor’s proposed water-sewer deal with Suez.

Sign Up for Edison Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

"My Administration will follow the direction that our voters have charted for Edison’s future. We have already begun making preparations for a new municipal department to operate and maintain the South Edison water system,” Mr. Lankey said in a statement issued after the referendum on September 10. 

Appointed to the Water Advisory Committee are: Business Administrator Maureen Ruane; Administrator of Planning and Strategic Initiatives Melissa Perilstein; attorney Joseph Baumann Jr.; Council President Alvaro Gomez; Councilmen Ajay Patil and Robert Diehl; and Edison residents Keith Hahn, Anthony DeAmorin, Tarendra Lakhankar and Biral Patel. 

The advisory panel holds its first meeting on Thursday evening at 7 p.m.