On Thursday, December 19th, the Edison Water Utility Advisory Committee and the new Water and Sewer Director, Robert Smith, will hold a question and answer forum with residents. The meeting will begin at 7:00 PM in the Council Chambers at 100 Municipal Boulevard. Edison township created a water and sewer department after a proposal to turn the service to a private company was turned down by the voters. The decision went to voters via a referendum after a grassroots campaign collected 5,000 signatures against the decision to assign the contract to Suez Water. The water and Sewer committee has 10 members including three current council members –Alvaro Gomez, Ajay Patil and Robert Diehl. It also includes township personnel Maureen Ruane and Melissa PeriIstein, and Detective Keith Hahn. Additionally, it includes Anthony De Amorin, one of the key grassroots activists instrumental in collecting signatures against Suez. Biral Patel and Tarendra Lakhankar are the other township residents serving on the committee.