Bowling: Union County Tournament, Linden H.S. Wins and Elizabeth Makes Final Eight

Elizabeth High School Credits: Chip Dickson
Roselle High School Credits: Chip Dickson
The Bulldogs (l-r): Evan Weinberg, Ansh Baxi, Scott Maran, Coach Fabiano, Sarah Jerome, Christopher Demers and Sean Martin Credits: Chip Dickson
Champion Linden Tigers Credits: Chip Dickson
Union High School - Second Place Credits: Chip Dickson
Union Catholic Credits: Chip Dickson
Westfield High School Credits: Chip Dickson

LINDEN, NJ – The final day of the Union County Tournament for bowling was held Thursday Jersey Lanes and Linden High School won. 

Jonathan Dayton High School finished fourth in a tournament done in a best-of-five Baker format.  They were the sixth seed of the top eight teams from Monday’s opening round.

Dayton won its first-round match against a tough Roselle team that included the second-place finisher in the boys Individual Tournament, Luis Torres.  The Bulldogs lost to the eventual champion Linden, 3-1, in the semifinals.  In a one game Baker format, fifth-seeded Union Catholic defeated sixth-seeded Dayton, 215-204, to finish the UCT in third place. 

Sign Up for E-News

Second-seeded Linden High School defeated top-seeded Union, 3-1, in the championship match.

Union won the first game against Linden, 196-180, only to have the Tigers come back with victories in the next three games (189-169, 279-214 and 216-164) to win the tournament.

This is the second tournament championship in three years for the Tigers and Coach Cherie Pizzano.  They also won the Union County Tournament in 2016. 

The Linden lineup included Anthony Golabek who finished fourth in the boys Individual, James Fitz who finished sixth, Justin Peters who finished 11th, Matthew Soto, and Darius Lewis. 

Union defeated the Elizabeth, 3-0, and Union Catholic, 3-1, to reach the championship match. 

The Union lineup included Kiara Powell who won the girls UCT Individual, Kevin Oliveria who finished fourth in the boys Individual, Samantha Valle who finished fifth in girls, Lacey Beall who finished sixth in girls, and Nick Melchionna who finished seventh in boys. 

The other team making the final eight was Westfield High School, which lost to Union Catholic in the first round.  Seeds were set by Monday’s three game aggregate team performance:

  1. Union                          3,036
  2. Linden                         2,965
  3. Roselle                        2,808
  4. Westfield                      2,731
  5. Union Catholic             2,709
  6. Dayton                         2,695
  7. Scotch Plains               2,631
  8. Elizabeth                      2,496 

The top eight of 16 teams made the finals.

The Baker format puts more emphasis team than the individual bowler.   Each team had five bowlers and they alternated frames with the first bowler rolling the first and sixth frame, the second bowling the second and seventh frames and so on.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


National Weather Service Issues Heat Advisory Through 6 p.m. Tuesday July 17

July 16, 2018

NEW YORK, NY, - The National Weather Service issued a 'Heat Advisory' this morning for Bergen, Passaic, Essex, Union and Hudson Counties in New Jersey. The heat advisory will remain in effect from noon Monday July 16 until 6 p.m. Tuesday July 17.

Extreme heat can cause illness and death among at- risk population who cannot stay cool. The heat and humidity may cause heat stress during ...

Exchange Place and WTC PATH Stations to Close For Weekend Track Maintenance

JERSEY CITY, NJ - At least they waited until after the Fourth of July fireworks were over before starting. Important information for rail commuters.

PATH stations at Exchange Place and the World Trade Center (WTC) will close at 11:59 p.m. this Friday, July 6, and remain closed until 5 a.m. Monday, July 9, to allow crews to transition to a new signal ...

Roselle Man Charged with Multiple Counts of Animal Cruelty After Search Finds Over 40 Dogs Living in Squalor

July 11, 2018

ROSELLE, NJ - Charges have been filed on the Roselle man found with more than 40 dogs living in severely unsanitary and inhumane living conditions in his home last month said acting Union County Prosecutor Michael A. Monahan.

Authorities say, Evelio J. Calderon, 40, is charged with than 30 criminal offenses that include two 3rd-degree animal cruelty offenses, 14 counts of 4th-degree animal ...

Presbyterian Church Steeple, a Roxbury Landmark, Gets Overdue Attention

July 11, 2018

ROXBURY, NJ - The long-sought restoration of the iconic, but decaying steeple atop the First Presbyterian Church of Succasunna is underway.

Using a massive hydraulic boom lift, workers from Main Street Custom Homes and Remodeling of Succasunna, got a close-up look today at the 165-year-old structure. The company, headquartered a few doors away, is volunteering the project management ...

'Servant of Two Masters' exudes foolish fun

‘Servant of Two Masters’ makes for foolish, frivolous fun

By Liz Keill

MADISON, NJ –Carlo Goldoni’s “The Servant of Two Masters,” in a rousing translation and adaptation by Bonnie J. Monte, has the outdoor audience at The Shakespeare Theatre of New Jersey laughing and clapping all the way through.

The yearly production, held at the amphitheatre on the ...

Union County Honored for History Projects

July 18, 2018

The Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders is pleased to announce that two national achievement recognitions for history projects have been presented to the Union County Office of Cultural & Heritage Affairs, a division of the Department of Parks and Recreation.

“Union County is rich in history, and this Freeholder Board is committed to engaging the public with programs and ...