Elizabeth, NJ--Voters throughout the state will go to the polls Tuesday to cast their ballots for candidates wanting to succeed Gov. Chris Christie, who will be leaving office after two terms.

In a number of the state's 40 districts, Senate and Assembly candidates ran uncontested, voters will cast votes for the General Assembly 20th Legislative District. One of the most anticipated local races in Elizabeth will be for Board of Education.

Here are the candidates and the offices they are running for;

Sign Up for E-News


Philip Murphy (D)
Kim Guadagno (R)
Matthew Riccardi (I)
Seth Kaper-Dale (I)
Peter J. Rohrman (I)
Gina Genovese 52 (I)
Vincent Ross 14 (I)

General Assembly-20th Legislative District

Annette Quijano (D)
Jamel C. Holley (D)
Joseph G. Aubourg  (R)

Board of Chosen Freeholders

Angel Estrada (D)
Christopher Hudak (D)
Angela R. Garretson (D)
Patricia Quattrocchi (R)
P. Mark Martini 17 (R)
Peter B. Lijoi (R)

Union County Sheriff

Peter Corvelli (D) 
Marc A. Krauss (R)

Elizabeth School Board

Christina Moreira
Ricky Castaneda
Paul Perreira
Sima Farid
Armando Da Silva
Maria Z. Carvalho
Jerry Jacobs
Rosa E. Moreno Ortega

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. We will have election results as they happen tomorrow.

Need to know where to vote? Find your polling place

For more information about elections visit, New Jersey Division of Elections

For information in Union County visit, Union County Votes

TAPintoElizabeth.net is Elizabeth’s free daily news source. Sign up for our daily eNews and follow us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/TAPElizabeth and Twitter @TAPElizabeth. 


Download the TAPinto App!   Click here for Android.  Click here for iOS.