Elizabeth Election Results Now Reported

(Left to right) Elected Board of Education candidates Diane Barbosa, Stanley Neron, and Jose Rodriguez Credits: Fran Sullivan

ELIZABETH, NJ – Incumbent Board of Education commissioners Stan Neron and Jose Rodriguez were re-elected along with their teammate Diane Barbosa, defeating seven opponents including incumbent Carlos Trujillo, according to the Union County Clerk.

Mayor Christian Bollwage, Council-at-Large members Patricia Perkins-Auguste, Manny Grova, and Frank Cuesta were elected unopposed.

In other county elections, freeholders Linda Carter, Bette Jane Kowalski, and Sergio Granados defeated opponents Joseph Aubourg, Glenn Gelbend, and Justin Verzosa.  

Sign Up for E-News

Congressman Albio Sires won re-elected with 80.78 percent (15,945) of the vote over Agha Khan with 15.80 percent (3,118).

Despite losing the national presidential election, Hillary Clinton won the county with 132,590 or 65.55 percent of the vote to Donald Trump’s 62,437 or 30.87 percent.  

Here are the vote counts:

Mayor Christian Bollwage (unopposed)                                                                                                 17,566

Council-at-Large members:

Patricia Perkins-Auguste                                      15,356

Manny Grova                                                      15,966

Frank Cuesta                                                      15,903


Linda Carter                                                       102,881

Bette Jane Kowalski                                            99,393

Sergio Granados                                                 96,578

Joseph Aubourg                                                  56,401

Glenn Gelbend                                                    56,107

Justin Verzosa                                                    56,735                

Board of Education

Cristina Cunha-Moreira                                         2,876  

Diane Barbosa                                                     8,948

Carlos Trujillo                                                      4,105

Stanley Neron                                                     7,493

Maria Medeiros Da Rassi                                       662

Maria Lorenz                                                      1,478

Ricky  Casteneda                                                  833

Sima Farid                                                         1,562

Virginia San Pedro                                                517

Jose Rodriguez                                                  7,426

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


Upcoming Events

Tue, February 20, 11:00 AM

Vauxhall Library, Vauxhall

Toddler & Pre-K Program


Wed, February 21, 6:00 PM

Vauxhall Library, Vauxhall

Club Teen: Painting Class

Arts & Entertainment Education

Wed, February 21, 7:00 PM

Congregation Beth Israel, Scotch Plains

Course on Biblical Interpretation Taught by ...

Education Religions And Spirituality

Union County Freeholders Partner in Two Upcoming Hiring Events

February 17, 2018

ELIZABETH, NJ – The Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders have announced two hiring event opportunities coming up with Griswold Home Care of Union County and the United Airlines “Summer Assist” youth program.

The first event is with Griswold Home Care of Union County. They are a privately owned, non-medical home care company and are looking for Certified Home Health Aides ...

“Hidden in Plain Sight” - A Presentation Centered Around a Teen’s Bedroom 

ROSELLE, NJ - Elizabeth Parents, grandparents, caregivers, when it comes to your children and drugs, do you know where to look? Do you know what you are looking for? You may be surprised at what is "Hidden in Plain Sight."

The Roselle Everett Hatcher Prevention Coalition and Prevention Links invite all parents, grandparents, caregivers, teachers and other adults from the city of ...

Summit resident Nancy King will be honored with a Lifetime Service Award from Elizabeth Organization

ELIZABETH, NJ - Summit resident Nancy King will be honored with a Lifetime Service Award as Family and Children’s Services of Elizabeth, celebrates its 125th anniversary, hosting the organization's sixth annual Red Carpet Party March 1, at Canoe Brook Country Club.

King is the founder and benefactor of "Nancy’s Place," a Covenant House ...

At Westfield High School, Student Says ‘It’s Almost Normal to Juul Here’

February 16, 2018

Editor’s note: This story about the rise in teen e-cigarette use, written by Westfield High School student Greta Frontero, originally ran in the Jan. 8 edition of WHS student newspaper Hi’s Eye.

WESTFIELD, NJ — A 12th-grade Westfield High School female said she doesn’t bring her Juul to school, but will use someone else’s if the opportunity ...

Another Holiday, Another Encounter with Marine Life along Jersey Shore

February 19, 2018

SPRING LAKE, NJ — In neighboring Spring Lake, a baby seal made its way onto the beach near the north end pavilion early this afternoon.

Photographer Nancy Orlowski discovered the harbor seal pup near the jetty situated just south of the pavilion on Ocean Avenue at Ludlow Avenue.

The seal’s Presidents Day appearance on February 19 comes one day after a whale was spotted off the ...

Democratic Party Would Be Making a Big Mistake by Not Recognizing Colleen Mahr's Talents

February 19, 2018

Dear Editor:

Mayor Colleen Mahr has been a valuable friend to the Township of Cranford. Whether it’s offering advice and assistance during devastating flood cleanup, supporting the Mayor's Council on the Rahway River, or her insight and assistance in meeting our affordable housing obligations, Mayor Mahr is always there for Cranford.

Colleen’s fairness and integrity is ...

'What Stays' exposes family secrets and lies

‘What Stays’ exposes family secrets, resentment and lies

By Liz Keill

SUMMIT, NJ – In an original play by Laura Ekstrand and Jason Szamreta, the Dreamcatcher Repertory Theatre has provided an enlightening, funny and heart-felt view of family foibles.

Ekstrand has said that the germ of the play came from conversations with the ensemble members of the troupe, based on ...

Mintz & Geftic Secures Class Certification for Drivers in Wage and Hour Case

February 16, 2018

Is your employer failing to pay you time and a half for working more than 40 hours/week?

Is your employer misclassifying you as an independent contractor rather than an employee to avoid paying overtime premium pay?

These are some of the allegations being made by the plaintiffs and their attorney Bryan Mintz, of Mintz & Geftic LLC, against Big City Automotive and its ...