ELIZABETH, NJ – The Elizabeth Rotary Club, celebrating its 100th anniversary this year, handed out a record $30,000 in scholarships to 15 outstanding Elizabeth high school students at the club’s annual luncheon at the Garden Restaurant, May 24.

The Albert and Louise Davis Scholarship Fund of the Elizabeth Rotary has awarded in excess of $538,000 to 353 students since it was established in 1986.

“I have the best unpaid job in the world,” said Kathy Smith, chair of the selection committee. In prior years, there were typically 35 applications, Smith explained. This year, there were 117, making the choices highly competitive.

Sign Up for E-News

This year’s recipients, said Doug Harris, vice president of the Davis Fund as well as vice president of marketing for Trinitas Regional Medical Center, “were just so impressive. They support their families, maintain good grades, and give back to the community. We see them at Trinitas all the time.”

 “I think because we are in Elizabeth, we have so many young people who want to improved their lives and their family’s lives who need help in paying for college, so this scholarship is appreciated,” said Ken Richuso, president of the Davis Fund. Richuso also chairs the annual Taste of Elizabeth that raises funds for these scholarships.

Six of the seven recipients from Elizabeth High School Frank J.Cigarell Academy were not able to attend because they were on their class trip. The following is a list of all the award winners and the colleges they will be attending.

Elizabeth High School Frank J.Cigarell Academy

Brithni Andrade, Rutgers University, New Brunswick

Nohely Andrade, St. Peter’s University

Janaina Armand, Rutgers University, School of Pharmacy

Jorge Cedeno Jr., Boston University

Debbie Cerda, Rutgers University, New Brunswick

Pukar Dhakal, Rutgers University, New Brunswick

Michael Esteveg, Rutgers University, School of Engineering

Alexander Hamilton Academy

Denise Alves, Rochester Institute of Technology

Gina Castillo, Kean University

Alexandre Garcia, Seton Hall University

Jorge Tapia, Rutgers University, New Brunswick

Katiuska Zuniga, Rutgers University, New Brunswick

Thomas A. Edison Career & Technical Academy

Mahasin DuBose, Kean University

Academy of Finance

Taiyri Garland, Montclair State University

Emani Givens, Morgan State University