The Boy Scouts of America, Patriots’ Path Council will be honoring local community members at the annual Boy Scouts of America Leadership Awards Dinner. Sheriff Joseph Cryan, Dave Gibbons, William Holzapfel, and Theodore Romankow will be honored on Thursday, October 19, 2017 at 6:30 pm at Newark International Airport Marriott for serving as exemplary role models for the youth of our area.  These recipients are chosen for their outstanding services as evidenced by the interest and leadership they have demonstrated within the community. They are citizens who live the ideals of the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives. The 2017 dinner chair is George A. Castro II.

This year’s four honorees prove to be outstanding role models to our youth. Sheriff Cryan was elected and sworn in as sheriff on January 1, 2015. Prior to being elected sheriff, he served as administrative undersheriff for eleven years to long time Sheriff Ralph Froehlich. His responsibilities included the canine unit, budgeting, hiring, internal affairs, training, accreditation, process, and the business office.

In public life, Sheriff Cryan served in the general assembly representing the twentieth district for twelve years, leaving at the end of 2014. He served as majority leader for the assembly for two years. He chaired or served on over a dozen different committees in the legislature. He was vice chairman and chairman of the democratic state committee and chairman of the township of union democratic municipal committee. The sheriff was also the first general chairman of the Union County Saint Patrick’s Day parade committee and is the standard bearer of the Cryan Association, an Irish-American charitable civic organization.

Sign Up for E-News

Dave Gibbons serves as CEO of Elberon Development Group, a family commercial real estate business that owns and operates approximately 2.5 million square feet of commercial industrial space in Northern New Jersey. Mr. Gibbons oversees all aspects of the company, including capital allocation, asset management, financial analysis, personnel, and strategic planning, with a particular focus on acquisitions, construction, and development.

Mr. Gibbons is a board member of Kean University, Choose New Jersey, The Kessler Foundation, and Elizabeth Development Company. He also currently serves as president of the board of trustees for New Jersey-NAIOP, a 750-member, state-wide commercial real estate trade organization. He also is a member of the Cornell Law School advisory board. He has served as a director or trustee for other organizations throughout his career, including First Bank, Synergy Bank, and Trinitas Hospital. He previously served as chairman of the board for four different organizations: Synergy Bank, Newark Legacy Charter School, Elizabeth Development Company, and the YMCA of Eastern Union County.

William R. Holzapfel was admitted to the New Jersey bar in 1959 and has been the city attorney of Elizabeth, New Jersey, since 1993.  Mr. Holzapfel is a past president of the Union County Bar Association.  He was a member and chair of the District XII ethics committee and trustee and chair of the Clients Security Fund, now known as the Lawyers Fund for Client Protection.  He is a former chair of the public utility law and local government law sections of the New Jersey State Bar Association and former chair of the NJSBA government and public sector lawyers committee.  In 2000, he received the Professional Lawyer of the Year award for Union County from the New Jersey commission on professionalism in the law on the recommendation of the Union County Bar Association and he has also been elected a fellow of the American Bar Foundation. 

Mr. Holzapfel is a retired colonel in the United States Marine Corps Reserve.  On December 13, 2016, he received the James R. Lacey, Esq. Award for distinguished service presented by the public utility law section of the New Jersey State Bar Association in appreciation and recognition of distinguished service to the New Jersey public utilities industry.  He is presently an associate counsel of the New Jersey state league of municipalities, a trustee of the New Jersey institute of local government attorneys and a board member of the Kean University liberty hall center for history advisory board.

Theodore (“Ted”) J. Romankow was appointed as the chief law enforcement officer of Union County, New Jersey on July 26, 2002 and served as the Union County prosecutor until 2013 when he became counsel to Javerbaum Wurgaft and joined its criminal and general litigation departments in Springfield, N.J.  Mr. Romankow was nominated by Governor James E. McGreevey in 2002 and reappointed by Governor Jon Corzine to a second term. He was responsible for overseeing 250 employees and a $19.5 million budget while coordinating the law enforcement efforts of approximately 2,000 police officers in 21 local police departments, the sheriff’s office and the Union County police department.

Mr. Romankow served as president of the County Prosecutors Association of New Jersey and was selected as prosecutor of the year in 2008 by the N.J. Narcotics Enforcement Association. He created the Union County homicide task force in 2008 and removed the responsibility of individual municipalities to investigate murders. At his direction, Union County became one of the first in the state to utilize the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO) statute against organized crime figures, gang members, and drug kingpins.

Prosecutor Romankow, initiated a gang task force and gang intelligence unit investigating gang-related crimes and prosecuting these various felons. Mr. Romankow was the driving force for the construction of a new state-of-the-art 11,000 square-foot child advocacy center, dedicated housing assistant prosecutors, investigators and mental health staff and nurses from local hospitals.  The center brought together all existing child abuse services providing professional assistance to child abuse survivors. The center interacts with over 500 Union County families each year reporting abuse. In 2013, the center received a national award from the national community development association in Washington D.C., as one the best family assistance programs in the United States.

Through the Boy Scouts of America 2017 Leadership Awards Dinner, necessary funds are raised for Scouting opportunities for underserved youth in Scouting and for programs, which send underprivileged youth to four of Patriots’ Path Council’s camps in New Jersey and New York state.  This event helps Scout packs and troops to operate and includes the cost of stipend leadership. There are 2,500 youth served in this program and a total of 17,000 youth total served in traditional Scouting. For their outstanding example to the youth of their communities, the Boy Scouts of America, Patriots’ Path Council salutes Sheriff Joe Cryan, Dave Gibbons, William Holzaphel, and Theodore Romankow with the 2017 leadership award.

If you would like to purchase tickets or take out a congratulatory ad in the dinner program, please contact Jennifer Volz, Sr. Development Director 973-765-9322 ext. 249 or visit