ELIZABETH, NJ – The majority of democratic voters in Union County cast their ballots for front runner Phil Murphy, giving him 50 percent or 18,331 votes, almost double that of his nearest rival. Republican voters, however, diverged from the majority of New Jersey voters by favoring Jack Ciattarelli over Kim Guadagno, 41 percent to 39.

Other contenders for the democratic nomination placed a distant away from Murphy. Attorney Jim Johnson received also 25 percent or 9,081 votes; Assemblyman John Wisniewski, 14 percent and 5,234 votes; and State Senator Raymond Lesniak, almost 9 percent or 3,192.  

Sheriff Joseph Cryan received the democratic nomination with 99.89 percent or 9,462 votes. He will face the Republican candidate Ashrat Hanna, who received  99.71 percent or 678 votes. Democratic candidate for Sheriff Peter Corvelli beat Gail Alexander, 81 percent or 22,463 to nearly 19 percent or 5,132. Corvelli will face Republican nominee Marc Krauss, who ran unopposed, in November.

Election results for Elizabeth were unavailable at press time.