The 2017 primary election has come to a close and set up contested November races.


Locally, out of 22,444 registered voters, 2,816 voters cast ballots or 12.5 percent.

Sign Up for E-News

On the Borough Council level, with two open three-year terms, it will be two democrats, Joshua Reinitz (1,237 votes) and Friedberg Rottenstrich (1,324) versus two republicans, Amy Lefkowitz (560 votes) and Marc Zharnest (537 votes).

For the governor's position, democrat Philip Murphy garnered the most votes among democrats in Fair Lawn with 871 votes. Others, in order of vote tallies are as follows: John Wisniewski (540), Jim Johnson (389), William Brennan (86), Raymond Lesniax (71), and Mark Zinna (34).

Republicans chose Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno in Fair Lawn with 431 votes. Others are as follows: Jack Ciattarelli (213); Hirsh Singh (97); Joseph Rullo (70); and Steven Rogers (46).

Statewide, the same held. It will be Murphy versus Guadagno for the four-year governorship.

For the state senate seat, Fair Lawn resident democrat Bob Gordon ran uncontested and earned 1,506 votes. For the republicans, Kelly Langschultz earned 545 votes. The two will square off in the fall.

Bergen County Freeholders David Ganz, Fair Lawn resident and former mayor, earned 1,382 votes, while his running mate Joan Voss earned 1,371 votes on the democrat side.

For the republicans in the freeholder bid, John Driscoll earned 456 votes and Raymond Cottiers Jr. earned 359 votes. Robert Yudin and Harry Shortway Jr. each had 250 votes.

Countywide, it will be Ganz and Voss versus Driscoll and Cottiers for the two open freeholder seats.


Of 8,721 registered voters in the borough, 1,396 cast ballots or 16 percent.

Amy Martin and Arati Kreibich will be the democrat representatives for the two open council seats, garnering 750 and 701 votes respectively.

Councilman Arthur Pazan is not running for re-election.

On the republican side, Eileen Maher Hillock earned 292 votes, setting up a four-way race in the fall, along with her write-in running mate, Michelle Torpey.

In the governor's bid to represent democrats, Philip Murphy earned 399 votes and others as follows: John Wisniewski (281); Jim Johnson (250); Raymond Lesniak (23); William Brennan (15); and Mark Zinna (6).

Representing republicans, same as statewide, is Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno with 181 votes in Glen Rock. The other candidates are as follows; Jack Ciattarelli (137); Hirsh Singh (49); Joseph Rullo (13); and Steven Rogers (12).

For the state senate seat, democrat Bob Gordon received 705 votes and republican Kelly Langschultz earned 255 votes. They will face-off in the fall.

Bergen County Freeholders David Ganz (658) and Joan Voss (679) will represent the democrats for the two open terms. Republicans John Driscoll (227) and Raymond Cottiers (164) will oppose them.

Robert Yudin and Harry Shortway received 107 and 149 in a failed attempt to get on the fall ballot for Bergen County Freeholder.