FAIR LAWN, NJ - It would appear it was no contest for Borough Council as two incumbents and one newcomer were elected Tuesday, giving democrats full charge of Fair Lawn in a contested race.

Kurt Peluso, currently mayor, was re-elected to the council, along with Cristine Cutrone. Kris Krause is the newest democrat to join the team making the council all democrats beginning January 2020.

The three democrats defeated three republican challengers: John Gil, Glen Callons and Stephen Janiszak. 

Sign Up for Fair Lawn/Glen Rock Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Of 23,927 registered voters, 6,283 cast votes or 26.26%.

Unofficial vote tallies from the borough clerk's office on Nov. 5 are as follows:

Peluso (D): 3,907

Cutrone (D): 3,680

Krause (D): 3,384

Gil (R): 2,247

Callons (R): 2,282

Janiszak (R): 2,062

John Cosgrove was the sole remaining republican on the current five-member council. His term ends on Dec. 31. 

Josh Reinitz and Gail Rottenstrich are the two other democrat council members whose terms expire Dec. 31, 2021. Each term on the council is four years.

At the reorganizaton in January 2020, the council will choose a mayor from among themselves.