GLEN ROCK, NJ - Democrat Kristine Morieko defeated republican Sanjiv Ohri in the race for Glen Rock mayor, while a total of four votes separated the three top vote-getters for Glen Rock Council. With the provisional votes yet to be counted, the winners for council could still change.

The governing body of Glen Rock, consists of a mayor and six council members elected at large, according to the League of Women Voters. Two council members are elected each year for three-year terms and the Mayor is elected for four years. The Mayor is the Chief Executive Officer for the Borough.

According to unofficial results from the borough clerk's office, democrats Teresa Gilbreath and Rob Dill, as of this moment, will fill the two open seats-- one left by republican Mike O'Hagan, who did not run for re-election, and the other one currently being filled by Michelle Torpey, who was fulfilling the unexpired term of Bill Leonard and challenging for the seat.

Sign Up for Fair Lawn/Glen Rock Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Morieko has two remaining years left in her three-year term on the council, but will now move to the mayoral position. Democrats will appoint someone to fill her unexpired term, likely in January.

One vote separated Schlett (1,782) from Dill (1,783), while Gilbreath (1,786) received just three more votes than Dill. 

Of 9,268 registered voters, 3,339 voted or 36.03%, according to the borough clerk's tally.

The unofficial vote totals were as follows:

Morieko: 1,935 (projected unofficial winner: Mayor)

Ohri: 1,782

Gilbreath: 1,786 (unofficial winner: Council)

Dill: 1,783 (unofficial winner: Council)

Schlett: 1,782 

Torpey: 1,747

Independent Joe Koenig: 303

If the totals hold, Gilbreath and Dill will join the other democrats on the council: Mary Barchetto, Amy Martin and Arati Kreibich, plus the new person to be appointed to Morieko's unexpired term.

The newest members of the council and the new mayor will take the oath of office in January 2020 at the governing body's annual reorganization meeting.