FAIR LAWN, NJ - Kurt Peluso, beginning his ninth year on the council, was sworn in as mayor for the second year in a row last night, Jan. 7. Also, Cristina Cutrone and Kris Krause recited the oath of office for four-year terms.

Peluso, chosen from among five council members, won re-election in the fall for a four-year term. The council elects its mayor annually.

The council is now comprised of five Democrats with the last Republican, John Cosgrove, attending his last meeting in December, the end of his eight-year tenure, five of which he spent as mayor.

Sign Up for Fair Lawn/Glen Rock Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

U.S. Congressman Josh Gottheimer (NJ-5) administered the oath of office to Peluso, while state legislators performed the honors for Cutrone and Krause.

"What a special country we live in," Gottheimer said. "What a special community you live in. This is a place where neighbors step in to help neighbors. You pull each other up."

"So you all know Kurt," he said. "Whether it's through high schools sports when he was younger or his volunteer efforts now."

“Kurt has dedicated his professional career and personal life to giving back. Kurt brings to Fair Lawn his experience giving back to the community through his work at the YMCA, at EveryoneOn, working closely with local police departments and boards of education,” Gottheimer said. “Through his time on the Council and as Mayor, Kurt passed the last two Fair Lawn budgets with no tax increases, focused on creating more pedestrian-friendly crossings, and helped the Borough become ranked the #1 community in New Jersey and #9 in the entire nation. I look forward to seeing all the work that he will continue to accomplish as Mayor of Fair Lawn, and I am incredibly honored to swear him in today.”

New Jersey Senator Joe Lagana swore in Peluso as mayor, while Bergen County Freeholder Tracy Zur and Assemblyman Chris Tully performed the honors for Cutrone and Krause respectively. Zur swore in Deputy Mayor Josh Reinitz, and Assemblywoman Lisa Swain did the same for Deputy Mayor of Community Affairs Gail Rottenstrich.

Check back for more information about the Council Reorganization Meeting.