RARITAN TOWNSHIP, NJ - Raritan Township held its annual reorganization meeting Jan. 3 at municipal hall to swear in one new member of the committee.

The only seat on the ballot this year was that of exiting committeeman Mike Mangin. The newly elected member of the township committee, Scott MacDade was sworn into office by Sen. Thomas Kean Jr., the Minority Leader of the NJ Senate.

In November's elections, MacDade, a Republican, beat Sharon Winnick, the Democratic candidate, to join the all-Republican committee.

Sign Up for Flemington/Raritan Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Raritan’s form of government is Township. The governing body is made up of a five-member at-large Township Committee elected by voters, and each committee member serves a three-year term with, on a staggered basis, one or two of the seats on the ballot every year.

At the annual reorganization meeting, the township committee selects one of its members to serve as mayor and another as deputy mayor. This year, Jeffrey Kuhl was again elected mayor.

He will preside at township committee meetings and vote as a member of the committee.

Committeewoman Karen Gilbert replaced Lou Reiner as deputy mayor.

Gilbert and Kuhl were sworn in by Sen. Christopher "Kip" Bateman.

Asked what his goals are for 2020, Kuhl said the committee is a cohesive group that accomplished a great deal in 2019, and they will continue working on quality of life issues.

“We received a grant that will allow us to codify and simplify our ordinances to make it easier for our businesses and residents,” he said. “We’ll also continue to work on the budget and improve our roads.”

Also sworn in to police department positions were Thomas Camporeale as captain; Scott Nelson as lieutenant; Christopher Vallat and Michael Dendis as sergeants; Timothy Nemeth, Aaron Roth and Geoffrey Benz as corporals; and, Richard Schenck as a patrol officer.

Three officials of the fire department also took oaths – Keith Paradiso as chief, Christopher Wilt as deputy chief and Dana Blasberg as assistant chief.

The mayor appointed Kathleen Hale, Amy Greene and Mohammad Rezaul Karin to three-year terms on the environmental commission and Raymond Simone to one year as an alternate #1 member.

To the planning board, Kuhl appointed Michael Mangin as an alternate #2, Lisa Fania as a class II member (municipal officials) and himself as a class I member, with all terms ending Dec. 31, 2020.