FRANKLIN PARK, NJ - More than 30 students and close friends and family members gathered in the Franklin Park School auditorium during the school's Parent Teacher Organization meeting to induct the first group of Safety Patrol, Tuesday night.

"You are going to have a lot of students here looking up to you as a leader," Officer, Dawn Flanders said. "...You are doing a really great community service to your school and to your friends and to your teachers. So continue to do the good work and continue to make good decisions and make everybody proud."

The students inducted Tuesday are for the fall cohort, in the spring a new group of students will be selected. Vice Principal, Nikki Tatum said the kids that didn't make the Safety Patrol in the fall can make it in the spring, as long as they continue to exhibit model behavior for the rest of the students. 

Sign Up for E-News

Sergeant Sean Hebbon led the new Safety Patrol members in their pledge to make things official. 

Fall Safety Patrol student's and their teachers. 

Teacher  Joanna Crespo Brooke Glassberg Lindsay Sena 
Students  Hazel Lewis Christopher Bennett Dylan Shah
Mahi Patel Maazin Iqbal Vaibhav Srivath
Alesia Morris Mehak Kaur Destiny Davis 
Fatima Azeem Marisol Santos Lilia Churchill
Neev Vachhani Om Hatalkar Aditya Shah
  Shaan Parekh  
  Jaden Barnes McKiethen  
Teacher  Kyla Pilgrim Jillian Kaczka Deborah Walczyk
Students  Kylie Sek Yuliana Castone Anthony Holley
Suraj Karry Devesh Khilnani Joshua Jalloh
Siya Sanghavi Siya Gubbi Sinai Kelliehan
Madison Joseph Emerson Oliveri Aarush Rai
Shannon Schwarz Khushi Patel Sai Ramachandran

Franklin Park School, Principal, Nicole Sury called the newest class of Safety Patrol student to get their badge and sashes

Jennifer Chernoski, Franklin Park School, counselor gave a HIB presentation after the ceremony.

Hebbon told the new Safety Patrol inductees to make sure they "lead by example."

Younger students had the chance to participate in the school's first-ever "Story-time with Buzzter" event in the school's library during the PTO meeting. During story time students had the chance to participate in craft activities. Lori Gross organized the event and Buzzter was assisted by faculty members Courtney Collins, Mary Shenouda, and Tosha Swami. Every month, Franklin Park School PTO members can use the service to make attending meetings easier. 

TAPinto Franklin Township is independently owned and operated by  Malik A. Lyons FHS Class of 93’ Graduate. 

Sign Up for E-News to get top stories delivered daily to your inbox. 

Download the FREE TAPinto App!  Click here for Android - Click here for iOS to get news as it is happening.

Like our FaceBook Page!  and follow us on Twitter