SOMERSET, NJ -The Franklin Township Board of Education welcomed the winners of November’s election to the governing body at Thursday night’s reorganization meeting. 

Assistant Superintendent and Board Secretary Jonathan Toth administered the oath of office to Laurie Merris, Ed Potosnak and Patricia Stanley, who will each serve three-year terms, ending in 2022. 

While Merris is the only incumbent returning for a second term, Potosnak and Stanley have held positions on the school board in the past. The pair’s previous terms expired in 2018, with Potosnak serving as board president at that time. 

Sign Up for E-News

Merris and Potosnak looked to the future and thanked the Franklin Township residents who voted for them in statements they made at the meeting.

“I want to say thank you to the residents of Franklin for giving me a second opportunity to serve on the school board, it’s one of the great joys of my life and I’m looking forward to the wonderful things that we’re going to be able to do for our kids,” said Merris. 

Specifically touting the board’s achievements over the last year, Potosnak took a moment to congratulate his fellow board members and the district.

“I really also want to congratulate the board and the district on their amazing accomplishments,” said Potosnak. “This year marked the opening of Claremont Road School, which is just amazing and I know it was a big undertaking, as well as a number of other construction projects.”

For her part, Stanley said she would be dedicating her three-year term to the memory of her sister, who passed away in October and was a long-time teacher in Cranford. She also hopes to set up a scholarship dedicated to her memory in Franklin. 

Last night’s meeting also saw the re-election of Nancy LaCorte as president and Adraman Singh as vice president of the board. Both return to their positions for the second year after a unanimous vote by their fellow board members.