FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP, NJ - The New Jersey Primary Elections will be held on Tuesday, July 7, and Franklin residents will make first choices within their specific parties at a national, state, district, and local level.

This election cycle will witness the expansion of vote-by-mail, and voters who are registered in their parties have already received their ballots. If you have not received a ballot or have any questions, contact the County Clerk’s Office at 908-231-7013 or the County Board of Elections at 908-231-7084.

Check the township website to see the location for your voting district.

Sign Up for Franklin Township Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Both the Republican and Democratic ballots show many candidates running unopposed within their party, though there are some exceptions.

Democrats and Republicans were mailed ballots automatically.  Unaffiliated and Inactive voters were mailed a special application that they can use if they would like to receive a ballot for the July 7th Primary. That application can also be printed here and mailed.

Somerset County Clerk, Steve Peter created a how-to video regarding this year's vote-by-mail ballot:


Voters and authorized bearers in Franklin can drop off their mail-in ballots at the dropbox during any time, up until 8 p.m. on Election Night, July 7, 2020, at the ballot drop box in front of the Franklin Municipal Building located at 475 DeMott Lane. According to election officials, the drop box will always be under video surveillance.   

Here are the candidates representing the Republican Party, as they appear on Vote by Mail Sample Republican Ballot:


Donald J. Trump, Incumbent 


All are uncontested Republican representatives who will be Delegates to the Republican National Convention on a slate headed by former New Jersey Governor Chris Christie. 

U. S. Senator

Hirsh Singh of Keep America Great New Jersey, a South Jersey conservative group

Natalie Lynn Rivera of We the People, a conservative, Constitution-based group

Rikin "Rik" Mehta of the Middlesex County Republican Party 

Patricia Flanagan of the conservative group America First Republicans

Eugene T. Anagnos (AKA Buddy Rider) is running with "Prevent CA East" 

Member of the House of Representatives:

District 12 —  Mark Razzoli


Franklin Bruno

Members of the Board of Chosen Freeholders (Vote for 2): 

Brian Levine, Brian Gallagher 

Borough Council (Vote for 2):

Steve Szabo, Joe Lukac, Lisa Payne, Dayna Camacho, Barbara Madak

Here are the candidates representing the Democratic Party, as they appear on the Vote by Mail Sample Democrat Ballot


Joseph R. Biden

Bernie Sanders  (Though his name remains on the ballot, Sanders dropped out of the race on April 7, 2020.)


All are uncontested Democratic representatives who will be Delegates to the Democratic National Convention. 


Lawrence Hamm of Not Me.Us, a liberal group associated with Bernie Sanders

Cory Booker, Incumbent

Member of the House of Representatives: 

Bonnie Watson Coleman, Incumbent

Lisa McCormick of Democrats United for Progress, a progressive group


Bernice "Tina" Jalloh

Members of the Board of Chosen Freeholders (Vote for 2): 

Douglas Singleterry, Paul Drake

Township Committee: 

Jeffrey Beyer

Editor's note: This article has been updated to reflect the source of ballot names. 

TAPinto is free and published daily made possible through sponsorships and advertising Market Your Business through TAPinto Franklin/Somerset! Get Your Town's News in Your Inbox: Sign Up for E-News 

Have a news tip, feedback or story idea? Email or call our tip line 908-279-0303 ext. 257.